We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly outstanding restaurant in Clifton -- and a new favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Poste

La Poste
3410 Telford Street, Cincinnati, OH 45220 (Central Business District)
+1 513-281-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Poste is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,725 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Ludlow
Description: Strolling the ever-energetic and eclectic streets of Clifton's Gaslight District, you will find our expansive and bright wall of windows just around the corner from the Esquire Theater. We are located on Telford Street in one of Cincinnati's most vibrant neighborhoods speckled with unique shops and galleries. Valet parking is available for your convenience. Friendly greetings and the heavenly aromas of Chef Andrew Mersmann's fare are waiting for you...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding restaurant in Clifton -- and a new favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I recently had dinner at this restaurant, my first time there under this incarnation, and I was extremely impressed. The menu is creative and interesting, and the food was extraordinarily well prepared. The restaurant is very well staffed, and service is attentive, friendly, and effective. The wine list is great, and sommeliers are available to help choose.

Overall, this place rapidly has become one of my top-three favorites in Cincinnati.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    44
    11
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My two sisters and I visited this restaurant in the Clifton's Gaslight District on Oct. 1, 2012. Our experience was so special that we returned on the following night. We were staying at a nearby bed and breakfast and the owner said we could not go wrong with this restaurant. She was right. Every dish we ordered was excellent. Our servers were knowledgeable, friendly and solicitous. Each question and request was attended to in a wonderful way. Standout dishes included the chicken liver pate, mixed green salad, crimson pear salad, pork shank, and a fresh regional fish dish. The sommelier was very helpful and the wine was fabulous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have only dined here for lunch, but each time was a good experience. The lunch menu offers main selections and side selections. One price if you choose only a main dish, slightly more if you choose both a main and a side. The items are not individually priced. Very simple, as is the decor. The service is friendly and efficient, the food is well prepared and pleasingly plated. The wine list offers plenty of reasonable choices by the glass or bottle. It is on the upscale side for Clifton dining, but the prices are reasonable. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Clifton Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I've been to La Poste several times, and always enjoy it. The food is consistently excellent, as is the service. The menu changes seasonally, and there are always interesting specials. I especially like the ravioli, which is very flavorful. The decor is also very nice, not casual, but not stuffy or formal either. This is a great place to go for dinner before a movie at the local theater which is right around the corner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were a party of 7, several who had never been there before. All of our food was excellent, we had really great service, everyone said they would be back. I have eaten there several times, you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Poste also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH

Been to La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.