We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly outstanding restaurant in Clifton -- and a new favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Poste

La Poste
3410 Telford Street, Cincinnati, OH 45220
+1 513-281-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Poste is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 1,839 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: French, American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ludlow
Description: Strolling the ever-energetic and eclectic streets of Clifton's Gaslight District, you will find our expansive and bright wall of windows just around the corner from the Esquire Theater. We are located on Telford Street in one of Cincinnati's most vibrant neighborhoods speckled with unique shops and galleries. Valet parking is available for your convenience. Friendly greetings and the heavenly aromas of Chef Andrew Mersmann's fare are waiting for you...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
159 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding restaurant in Clifton -- and a new favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I recently had dinner at this restaurant, my first time there under this incarnation, and I was extremely impressed. The menu is creative and interesting, and the food was extraordinarily well prepared. The restaurant is very well staffed, and service is attentive, friendly, and effective. The wine list is great, and sommeliers are available to help choose.

Overall, this place rapidly has become one of my top-three favorites in Cincinnati.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Labatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My two sisters and I visited this restaurant in the Clifton's Gaslight District on Oct. 1, 2012. Our experience was so special that we returned on the following night. We were staying at a nearby bed and breakfast and the owner said we could not go wrong with this restaurant. She was right. Every dish we ordered was excellent. Our servers were knowledgeable, friendly and solicitous. Each question and request was attended to in a wonderful way. Standout dishes included the chicken liver pate, mixed green salad, crimson pear salad, pork shank, and a fresh regional fish dish. The sommelier was very helpful and the wine was fabulous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have only dined here for lunch, but each time was a good experience. The lunch menu offers main selections and side selections. One price if you choose only a main dish, slightly more if you choose both a main and a side. The items are not individually priced. Very simple, as is the decor. The service is friendly and efficient, the food is well prepared and pleasingly plated. The wine list offers plenty of reasonable choices by the glass or bottle. It is on the upscale side for Clifton dining, but the prices are reasonable. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Clifton Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I've been to La Poste several times, and always enjoy it. The food is consistently excellent, as is the service. The menu changes seasonally, and there are always interesting specials. I especially like the ravioli, which is very flavorful. The decor is also very nice, not casual, but not stuffy or formal either. This is a great place to go for dinner before a movie at the local theater which is right around the corner.

Helpful?
Thank Travelpro513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were a party of 7, several who had never been there before. All of our food was excellent, we had really great service, everyone said they would be back. I have eaten there several times, you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Poste also viewed

 

Been to La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing