We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 East 4th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Parkland, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had selected the Residence Inn partly because of its location, but primarily because of the great reviews it received. We were not disappointed. It is in a great location, with easy access to sports venues, shopping, restaurants etc. It is also an attractive building and the interior is nicely appointed. We really enjoyed relaxing in front of the fireplace at the end of the day.

The biggest asset, however, is the staff. They were all excellent, and are easily on par with the standards of much "higher end" hotels (and would put some to shame). We were made to feel welcomed and appreciated right from the start by Michaela who checked us in and Brian who handled our luggage. It continued with the bar staff, the kitchen staff and everyone else we came into contact with. This is clearly a very well run hotel.

Our only disappointment was that the bar was not open for lunch - we had been planning on getting some food before we left for the airport on the last day. Not a big deal and it did not detract from our stay.

If our travels bring us back to Cincinnati, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review of our hotel. I am very excited to hear that you found out hotel to live up to the great reviews we have received! I am especially excited to hear you found our staff to be our greatest asset as I could not agree more that it is the team in the hotel that makes the hotel experience a great one. I will absolutely share your great comments with both Brian and Michaela (two of our superstars!).

We will continue to look at ways we can expand our food and beverage offerings at the hotel to ensure we can provide an all-around great experience for each and every guest.

Thank you again for your great review and we absolutely look forward to your next stay with us.

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
74
4
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I came to tripadvisor.com to add my review for this great hotel, and I am not surprised to find it has received the Traveler's Choice 2013 award, and is ranked #1 of 63 hotels in Cincinnati! Our car was promptly tended to by valet parking, and we were greeted by the two friendly desk clerks. My request for a room with a view was quickly and professionally accommodated, and that room was prepared as a feather-free room within five minutes of our arrival. Our one-bedroom suite was huge. The front desk staff also gave excellent recommendations for nearby dining, and were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel has been recently remodeled, and is very attractive and in keeping with it's historic past. The buffet breakfast was good, and the staff there also very friendly. Thanks for a great overnight stay; wish we could have stayed longer than our one night.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor may offer a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I am very excited to hear that the hotel suite and the service provided by the team both met your expectations. We feel we have a beautiful hotel and a great team and we are thrilled to hear you felt the same way. I assure you we will keep up the excellent work and ensure we create the same great experience we created for you for each and every guest!

Thank you and I look forward to your next stay with us!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is really a great place, right in downtown. Well put together with a professional flare. The breakfast was quite good and the guests seemed happy. There is no pool, but they have a fitness center. Limited food service outside of breakfast.

Room Tip: "Studio Suites" are still suites with a decent kitchen and sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review of our hotel. I am glad to hear you found the hotel to be well appointed with a professional feel as that was definitely what our goal was when developing the hotel. Thank you for you feedback on the hotels food options, I will absolutely meet with my hotel leadership team to see what we can do to provide better options throughout the day.

Thank you again for your time in writing the review and we look forward to your next stay!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

AWESOME, TERRIFIC, AMAZING, WONDERFUL .Residence Inn in Cincinnati ohio is the most wonderful and amazing Hotel I've ever visited.Everything about this place is perfect, the staff, room serves, rooms, eatery's around, etc.Number one in my books so so far, I have nothing Bad to say about this amazing place.I will always stay at Residence Inn when traveling to Cincinnati. Amazing.Go go go, u will be so so happy you will never want to leave ever.Great job Residence Inn in Cincinnati Ohio you stole my heart.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the awesome review of our hotel! We are ecstatic that our hotel was one of the most wonderful and amazing hotels you have ever visited. We strive to create an amazing experience for each and every guest at each and every opportunity and it is great to hear you felt we accomplished our goal!

We absolutely look forward to your next visit to Cincinnati and your next stay at our hotel!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at the best of American hotels: The Greenbrier in West Virginia, The Grand Hotel in Michigan and The Hays Adams in Washington DC. I AM very picky when I select a hotel, even for a brief overnight stay. I spent weeks studying 3 possible hotels in downtown Cincinnati before booking the Residence Inn on 4th Street. I strongly considered 2 near Fountain Square that have extremely high "star" ratings. Boy, did I make the right decision going with this one! What a find!

We decided to drop off our luggage before walking to the Reds game. We arrived at noon, 3 hours before the "acceptable"check in. The valet immediately greeted us, like we were old friends, and told us we might be able to get into our room. Shocked, the valet took our car and we headed into the hotel. The woman at the reception desk, extremely welcoming, told us our room was ready! Wow! The hotel lobby and bar are extremely clean and modern. Very upscale looking.

We asked for a room on a higher floor facing the river. The two room suite was incredible. Up to date furnishings, linens, kitchenette and carpet. The room was large and exceeded my expectations.

Every single employee we encountered spoke to us first and was extremely upbeat and pleasant. One minor point we truly appreciated from the staff was the fact we never heard the following phrases: "no problem" or being called "guys." We heard the phrase "our pleasure" constantly. How refreshing!

In the evening and during the day we appreciated sitting on the large front porch of the hotel. Lytle Park is directly across the street which is beautiful.

This place is a hidden jewel! So glad we found it. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the park have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the amazing review of our hotel! It is very exciting to hear that at every turn you had a great experience at our hotel, from the suite to the front desk team to the valet. I assure you that our use of my pleasure is not just a phrase for us but a way of life and it is great to know that is how it was received. We place a great deal of pride in the service we provide to our guests and I assure you we won't let up!

Thank you again for sharing you experience and we look forward to taking great care of you during your next visit to Cincinnati.

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there on a Sunday night and really enjoyed it. Rooms are large and smell good. The desk employees were very polite and helpful. The valet parking was very courteous and speedy. We were not able to try the breakfast because we had to leave too early. Great place to walk the bridge to Newport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of the hotel. We are excited to hear that you found our suites to be spacious and clean and that you found our team to be helpful and polite. We have a great team here at the hotel and I assure you we will all keep striving to create a very high level experience for every guest!

We look forward to your next visit to Cincinnati!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The reviews on TripAdvisor were spot on. This hotel was immaculate ~ friendly ~ well located ~ all in all a wonderful experience. If I'm ever back in Cincinnati, I will certainly stay here. And the breakfast staff was beyond nice. They deserve a special mention.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It is great to hear you had a wonderful experience while staying with us. Thank you for the special note about our breakfast team, I agree they are amazing, and I will be sure and share your comments with them. They truly strive to make each and every guest's morning a bright and cheerful one and they willed be absolutely thrilled to know they helped you get off to a great start each morning.

We look forward to your next trip to Cincinnati.

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown

Address: 506 East 4th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, the all-new Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown offers Cincinnati hotel accommodations that blend old-world splendor with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.