We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel in Cincinnati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3024 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points w/Your Stay
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Hampton Inn, University, is very conveniently located and easily accessible to the University of Cincinnati, the Cincinnati Zoo, and the downtown area. There is ample parking. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The staff is very helpful and they went out of their way to be accommodating. The breakfast has a lot of choices and is very good. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    96
    31
    8
    12
See reviews for
166
34
9
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lovely brand new hotel adjacent to the UC campus. Excellent breakfast choices included, clean fresh rooms and ample parking, staff were helpful and hotel, while not luxurious, fulfilled all our needs very well. We will stay there everytime we come to Cincinnatti.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University. It was beautiful and very well maintained. The rooms were spotless and the beds were very comfortable. Pool and exercise are were both very clean and the staff was all very pleasant. The neighborhood on the other hand was very scary. I did not feel safe outsdie after dark. I thought I had been to some rough areas but nothing like that. I am not sure if we would ever stay again because of the location but over all the hotel meet all our needs when inside the hotel. If you are use to a rough area this is a GREAT place. Very CLEAN.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValarieOrr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the great guest review regarding the hotel staff and room cleanliness. We do strive to do our best.

As a traveler, I can absolutely understand that surrounding areas can be subjective and that appearances do mean a lot and can understand your concerns.

The area around our hotel is undergoing a rejuvenation and there is a lot of construction going on that may make it appear run down or unsavory.

Within a few months this should all be completed and the area have a different "feel" about it.

We do hope you return when all the renovations to the area are complete and give it a second chance to make a better impression.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We had never stayed at a Hampton before and thus did not know what to expect. It was to be there or a chair in the hospital.
We were more than pleased. The highlights were: the bed, the covers, the SHOWER even the free breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is truly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Staff is kind, friendly and professional. Amenities are great and the location is incredible. The complimentary breakfast can't be beat (even though staff tsk'd me {jokingly} as I threw away my own garbage).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel was very busy upon arrival but the young men at the front desk greeted everyone in a pleasant and professional manner. Our room was very clean. The bedding was especially comfy. Special thanks to Wanda and Dewayne in the breakfast room the following morning. They happily welcomed each guest and tirelessly cleared and managed each table and asked if everything was okay. They brought beverages and other items to guests if they needed them. The best breakfast experience we have had at a Hampton to date. Did not use the pool or exercise room so cannot comment on that. There is a parking fee which was told to us up front and is added to the final bill. All in all, a convenient location close to the University of Cincinnati and the major hospitals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

For some strange reason, the architects decided to build this hotel with wood joist flooring. This makes even the 'quietest' walker loud to the room below. I stayed for 3 nights and had the most horrible experience with being kept up until after midnight and being woke up at 6 each morning by the people in the room above walking 'heavy' on my ceiling. The hotel is very nice from a décor standpoint but the construction makes it unbearable. If you stay there, ask for the top floor...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValarieOrr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I can completely understand how important a good night's sleep can be, especially when traveling. Excessive surrounding noises or heavy heel walkers can make it seem as if the guests around you are walking in your room and not their own.

However, each night that you contacted the front desk, we did everything in our power to assist you with this issue - from contacting the guests around you to offering to relocate you on the last night of your stay. As you know, we could not relocate you any earlier as the hotel was sold out.

As a result, you received a full refund for your entire stay (not just one night) even though everything else with the hotel was more than satisfactory and you were pleased with it.

We do hope that you choose our hotel again in the future and because you are such a light sleeper, if you let the staff know that when making a reservation, we will see that you are on the top floor so that your night can be more restful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area

Address: 3024 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area Hotel Cincinnati
Hampton Inn And Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.