We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black pearl sings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ensemble Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ensemble Theater
1127 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
(513) 421-3555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 62 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Theaters, Other
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Black pearl sings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic productions. Everyone in Cincinnati should see their plays. The two performers were outstanding.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Local Theater at It's Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We discovered this professional theater in down town Cincinnati quite by accident on a recent trip. It is a beautiful small theater with only 191 seats. The atmosphere is warm and intimate.
We attended opening night of "Black Pearl Sings". This play runs until March 31st and I would highly recommend it. The story, the music and the cast of only two actresses are spellbinding.The tickets were very reasonable for opening night - $42. We took a taxi to the theater but it was so close to our hotel, 21C Museum Hotel, that we walked back. It is close to several of the down town hotels. We will definitely attend this theater again on our next visit to Cincinnati.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We usually look for their sales before purchasing tickets. We love it. Next to Normal was even better than the Broadway show and the Broadway tour, so they have an excellent cast. It's a very intimate venue where there is no bad seat in the house.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“NEW Theatrical productions still on B'Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a top notch regional theatre in an exciting urban setting. GREAT "new" plays and beautifully produced, this is a MUST see for any theatre lover and for those who want to see something very special on their trip to Cincinnati.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberty twp, ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ensemble Theater Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great place to see whay I would consider off Broadway shows. I'm not a real lover of stage BUT let me say this place is hands down better than the Aronoff. It's a smaller theater and you are able to see the actors from the back row unlike the large theaters. The stage performances are remarkably well done. HAving been to large productions at the larger places, the Ensemble is by far, the best for your entertainment bucks. Plus the area just a block north has several eateries that should be checked out like Taste of Belgium, Lavomatic, The Senate, Abigail street and several more. Parking is located in a lot located in the middle of all these places. Yeah, it's very safe in this area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Theater also viewed

 

Been to Ensemble Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ensemble Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.