We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ensemble Theater

Ensemble Theater
1127 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
(513) 421-3555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 141 things to do in Cincinnati
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We usually look for their sales before purchasing tickets. We love it. Next to Normal was even better than the Broadway show and the Broadway tour, so they have an excellent cast. It's a very intimate venue where there is no bad seat in the house.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“NEW Theatrical productions still on B'Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a top notch regional theatre in an exciting urban setting. GREAT "new" plays and beautifully produced, this is a MUST see for any theatre lover and for those who want to see something very special on their trip to Cincinnati.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeeSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberty twp, ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ensemble Theater Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great place to see whay I would consider off Broadway shows. I'm not a real lover of stage BUT let me say this place is hands down better than the Aronoff. It's a smaller theater and you are able to see the actors from the back row unlike the large theaters. The stage performances are remarkably well done. HAving been to large productions at the larger places, the Ensemble is by far, the best for your entertainment bucks. Plus the area just a block north has several eateries that should be checked out like Taste of Belgium, Lavomatic, The Senate, Abigail street and several more. Parking is located in a lot located in the middle of all these places. Yeah, it's very safe in this area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mybav1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Sometimes smaller is better. Cincinnati has several good theater companies. Of these the Ensemble Theater is the best. Fifteen years ago, my wife and I, lacking any other Saturday night activity, decided to attend their then current production. We have been subscribers since.

The theater is small and that is part of its charm. It feels friendly. The location on Vine Street is at the center of a food and entertainment district which is thriving. There are many new restaurants, shops as well as residential housing. We usually have dinner there before the play. For $2 parking is available at a garage across the street.

Every year the Ensemble Theater premiers 6 plays which have not previously been seen in Cincinnati. They are carefully chosen. The quality is high and the acting exceptional. Even the sets are remarkable. Much of the credit for the success of the Ensemble Theater, as well as for the revitalization of the Vine Street area, goes to the theater's producer, D. Lynn Meyers. Dynamic, industrious, personable and persuasive, she has had the vision and perseverence to make the Ensemble Theater a success.

If you live in the Cincinnati area, give the Ensemble Theater a try. You will be amazed. If you are just visiting, join us and enjoy the Ensemble Theater and the Vine Street area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Always good productions here; make sure you sit close though; far away seats are at a slant and I don't like the angle.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Theater also viewed

 

Been to Ensemble Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing