We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go anywhere but here!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium Hotel

Save Saved
You added Atrium Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atrium Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Tri County, Cincinnati, OH 45246   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Highland, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go anywhere but here!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

After arriving home from a convention, I felt I had to sit down and warn people about this hotel. The ONLY thing it has for it is a beautiful atrium area in the middle of the hotel. That's it! And even that wouldn't have been half as good without the convention's decorations. The rooms are downright DISGUSTING! I have spent the weekend feeling like a elementary school child going "Eeekkkk... Cooties" ! The bathroom was downright scary! The tub/shower looked like it hadn't seen a cleaning product in months if ever. The sink was cracked with black mold growing in it. The toilet shifted and made a crunch noise every time you sat down that made you feel like you were going to fall through the floor at any moment. The mirrors and several other spots on the walls all had black mold as well. The furniture was just as scary. Our mattress felt more like double box springs with a thin mattress pad on top. The desk chair liked to try to dump you due to the fact it was missing a roller. And when opening one of the dresser drawers, it fell apart in my hand. The hotel staff barely listened to anything you asked, most of the time being rude when they did. Also don't bother asking for ANYTHING while you are there. Change for a $5 so you can get a drink or snack from the hard to find vending machines? Forget it. Extra towels because 2 won't do when you have 3-4 people in a room? Not happening. An extra blanket because their blankets are thin and the rooms can't decide if they actually want to get above 40 degrees even if you have the heat on? Dream on. And if you do go, skip the continental breakfast! We still don't know if the milk that was making everyone sick was powdered milk or sour milk but 1 sip altered your taste buds for a good 10 minutes... if you were able to keep it down at all! While I thoroughly enjoyed the convention itself, I wouldn't return to this hotel if someone paid me a million dollars!

Room Tip: You want a good room.... GO ELSEWHERE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    0
    7
    15
See reviews for
6
6
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

The This hotel would get zero stars if that were an option. I attended a convention here and while they told us over the phone that they were booked solid, it was not the case. The hotel was nearly empty but they conveniently "lost" everyone's reservations and tried to get people to pay for more expensive rooms than the ones they had reserved. Honestly, it would have been a blessing if they were booked solid and lost our reservations! The rooms have cigarette burned bedding, rock hard matresses, stained upholstery and flooring and sticky walls. My shoes stuck to the bathroom floor, there was water damage to the ceiling and walls of the room, the shower did not work properly, the towels were like sandpaper and there was only one electrical outlet in the entire room! I'm pretty sure this place was last redecorated around 1982 judging by the Golden Girls peachy pink color that is splattered everywhere.

The nightmare doesn't end with the rooms however. The hallways are dark, full of water damage and the wallpaper is (I kid you not) STAPLED to the walls! The fire exits are not easily found and there are no maps posted to help you find them. The continental breakfast consisted of sour milk, bruised apples and stale danish. This nightmare hotel appears to be a family operation and several of the staff don't even speak English. There are also no vending machines to be found and there are 2 ice machines in the entire building. The old vending areas now sit empty with rusted pipe and nasty sewer lines out in the open and public restrooms are only moderately clean. I have traveled on many occasions and never in my life have I been so appalled! The only thing going for this place is that it didn't appear to have bedbugs! Several convention attendees also observed that the creepy atmosphere made them feel like the twins from "The Shining" were about to appear. This place is Hell.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel is one that I would certainly not recommend under any circumstances. I looked at the ad and it looked very interesting with reasonable pricing. The check in was rather discomforting and when checked room it was not as described. There are no refunds with this hotel. Hotel was rather drabby, staff rather indifferent and in general this is a place you do NOT want to stay at.
The hotel was advertized as first class European but its appearance with broken door locks, doors in poor condition, peeling paint, poor maintenance inside and out, and not what would give a safe feeling to a traveller especially to a lady by herself.
This is not a hotel that I would recommend at all and the fact that it was almost empty says enough. Other guests seem to have had similar bad experiences.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, IN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Spent time last weekend at CincyCon at this hotel. Lot's of space, we filled a ball room or two or three. Staff was very nice.

Props to the young man staffing the front desk at 11:00 pm Saturday evening, I bought beer from the hotel pantry (big plus for any hotel) and didn't have a bottle opener. Neither did he but turned a one-hole punch into the right tool at the right time.

Rooms - clean and in good shape -- it was a cold weekend, room stayed warm and had plenty of hot water in the morning.

If you're looking for a 5 star experience - we'll this isn't what the Atrium is offering (at this time) but for the cost the facility well exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights while attending Cincycon game convention with a couple of friends. We had a room overlooking the atrium (the old pool area). The atrium was a great spot for part of the convention. Lots of windows let in plenty of natural daylight so it felt like you were outdoors but no worries about rain or other bad weather. Other parts of the convention were held in large conference rooms that served their purpose well. Our room was nice & clean, had plenty of towels, etc. No complaints there. Staff was friendly too. This hotel was a good place for the game convention and I had a good stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at The Atrium because we were attending a dance and didn't want to have to drive home after it ended. This place is very inexpensive so if you are expecting a resort experience, forget it. They used to have a pool and hot tub in the atrium, but it is no longer there. They keep the atrium area VERY COLD since they no longer have a pool. However the rooms were very hot. We had to turn off the heater and open a window in order to breathe. The room itself was relatively clean as was the ballroom where we had our event. Oddly enough, we were asked to take down all of our decorations right after the event instead of in the morning as we had done in the past, but the staff said that they had a rental the next morning at 10AM.

On the plus side, there are a lot of chain restaurants, shopping and a bowling alley close by so there is plenty to do. They have a small coffee station and there are soft drinks available (for a price). Ice machines work, bedding was clean, and there is a mini fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and coffee maker in the room. I like reading the reviews on this place and hear how people expect a LOT more for their money than what they get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is an inexpensive, no frills hotel. My room was clean, and staff changed the sheets and towels daily. This hotel was close to work for my two week stay in Cincinnati, there are plenty of restaurants and things to do after work.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Hotel

Address: 30 Tri County, Cincinnati, OH 45246
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atrium Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium Hotel & Conference Center offers a great location just north of Downtown Cincinnati easily accessible from I-275, I-75 or I-71. The rooms of Atrium Hotel Conference Center is beautiful and you have a choice of rooms with a king bed, two double queen, executive king suites or a two room suite. The spacious rooms of the Atrium Hotel invite for a time of relaxation. All guest rooms are equipped with individual climate control units, as well as microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, iron, ironing board and hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Atrium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.