We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Dive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria Maya

Taqueria Maya
9996 Kings Automall Dr., Cincinnati, OH 45249
513-677-6292
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 1,653 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Maineville, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My Favorite Dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Excellent food, large portions, and very reasonable prices. This place has the best guacamole I've ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“What it lacks in ambience it makes up for in freshness and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Make no mistake, this is one of those places that is best described as a hole-in-the-wall. Or hole-in-the-strip-mall to be more accurate. The initial impression of cheap furniture and sparse decorations, can be a little off-putting, and with a peek through the windows from the parking lot, my children became convinced it was closed for renovation. I pointed out the neon sign displaying "OPEN," which persuaded them to come inside. I

The menu is varied, and there are daily specials. Where Maya's really shines is its value. It is certainly not a 5* gourmet restaurant, but the food it serves seems to be prepared fresh, and is served with fresh cilantro and lime wedges. Burritos are huge, combination meals are served on two plates and will leave you stuffed with enough left over for the following day's dinner. Everything had good flavor, and none of it had the "chemical/artificial" taste that we've had from a different Mexican chain with a restaurant in the area. Our family of 5 was able to eat for just over $40 (we did not have drinks) and took home two containers of leftovers.

My biggest complaint is that they don't serve margaritas. If they can add that to the menu, I can see becoming a regular at this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great authentic inexpensive Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Recently moved to area and wanted to find some really good Mexican food. This is the real deal. The guy who owns it is the brother of the Taqueria up in Dayton and it has the same menu, food, service, etc. so needless to say it's quite good. If you are looking for a quick, cheap, authentic, lots of food then this is the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“#14 combo....carryout; next time spork me please.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

So Cincy is graced with this little restaurant that serves a very spicy beef enchilada, a puffy hard shell taco...and decent tamale..rice and beans come wik and real Coke is available if you wish
About the only downside was as a carry out to a hotel down the street, I was neither offered or did they include any plastic ware. So be ready for that.

No chile rellenos on the menu but otherwise it's all good. Service was fine and yes English is spoken as well as Spanish.

Enjoy it's worth the trip and the traffic at dinner time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I have been looking for this caliber of Mexican food for ten years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I have driven past this place hundreds of times and never noticed this little taqueria. While getting my car serviced at Kings Automall, I noticed. The cashier gave the place a good review, so I tried it. I was truly expecting an "El Rancho Grande" type experience and was totally blown away! This was the street style food I love. The taco were flavorful, fresh and had a kick. There was a great mix of patrons and the service was great. The price was extraordinary as well: $5.25 for four tacos, beans, rice and chips. The salsa in the red ketchup bottle was my favorite: flavorful and fiery! If in Loveland-Mason area, try this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Maya also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Taqueria Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.