We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a dinner date than a train ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Dinner Train

Cincinnati Dinner Train
4725 Madison Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45227
5137917245
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 1,725 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More of a dinner date than a train ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

No opportunity to get out and view the train nor is it a very scenic route. Perfect venue for a different dinning experience, adult birthday, wedding anniversary, etc. but not a train ride. As it is this is not a good choice for families small kids will get bored stuck on a train listening to the adults talk for 3 hours. Might be better if they served dinner on the way to the park stopped let you get out and explore the park for a while and then served desert back to the loading point. Food quality, presentation and portion size were all good.

Here again souvenir photo should be geared more towards the train (or even somewhere in the park) and less about the over grown weeds beside the tracks.

Above all I would have to say the staff is what makes this a very good experience. They all give a 100% to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your trip. Hopefully the management recognizes this and rewards them appropriately.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I do a dress up dinner every year around Christmas time. We chose the Cincinnati Dinner train this year and were quite pleased!

You have to book WAY early since reservations fill up quickly.

It was just the two of us and we got lucky because we got an end-table where they only sat the two of us. Please note that if there are only two of you, unless you get one of the two end tables or you pay for the other two seats, you will be sat with another couple, since all the rest of the tables are 4 tops.

The ride was 3 hours, start to finish. The food was spaced nicely and very tasty. We would have liked some Christmas music, but they played music from WGRR oldies - to their credit, it WAS oldies night, as stated on the website, but it was one of the only nights availible for us.

The service was great. Be aware that soft drinks are not included and you cannot make food substitutions. The menu will be what you pre-select before the ride. The cost is $74.50 a person for the ride and dinner. A bit pricey, but you are paying for the experience of the whole thing.

Ladies, bring a sweater if you go in the winter months. It was a bit chilly. And the train does rock quite a bit. Walking to the restroom was interesting!

It was dark out for the whole ride, so there was not much to see, but when we passed something of note, they told us over the PA system. Neat history!

We had a nice time, just us two, but it also would have been a fun thing to do with another couple.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

the food was good was on the way thru on a trip and enjoyed the food and service

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow, a terrffic New Years dinner ride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We dressed for the occasion, women in 40's hats, men in suits and ties. The servers took care of all needs and drink orders promptly. We enjoyed our companions, the sights and historical announcements. It was the best New Year's eve of our lives.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I went on 12/3 and sat in the Silver Sword dining car to celebrate her birthday. The prime rib was outstanding and her salmon was delicious. The on board staff was friendly and the passenger conductor was very knowledgeable about the sights along the route. We had a wonderful time. Thank you. We will be back again and will bring friends!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Dinner Train also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Cincinnati Dinner Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Dinner Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.