We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harriet Beecher Stowe's House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harriet Beecher Stowe House

Harriet Beecher Stowe House
2950 Gilbert Ave., Cincinnati, OH
513/632-5120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 189 things to do in Cincinnati
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Former home of the author who wrote Uncle Tom's Cabin.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Harriet Beecher Stowe's House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This house was on the same complex as Mark Twain's house. We had a different guide and he was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Well worth a visit. I never realized the book Uncle Tom's Cabin was one of the causes for the Civil War. SO interesting.
Sally.
The gentleman who took us round was so concerned that he might bore us and nothing could have been further from the truth. Absolutely charming.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Educational experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I went a few years ago as part of a college history class field trip. It is interesting to find a great slice of history in Cincinnati. As others have said, it is not located in the best part of town, confirm your route in advance. The home is not what I would have expected. The first floor rooms have a few pieces of furniture. There are information panels in the rooms to give you information about the Beecher family and their place in history. The second floor has been turned into a contemporary art gallery which I found totally out of place in this home. I understand they operate on a very limited budget but I found the gallery really out of place. I enjoyed the gardens around the property. They needed some upkeep but you could get the feel of the grounds and what it must have been like in the 1800’s. It is worth a look for people who like history. The National Underground Railroad Museum is in downtown Cincinnati a few miles away. About an hour away is the Rankin House and The John Parker house located in Ripley, Ohio. Well worth the trip. You can get a real feel for what it must have been as a slave escaping to the North and the struggles once across the Ohio River. For all of these sites the operating hours are very limited, so be sure to check first. Also while in Ripley, Ohio check out Cohearts Riverhouse, great soups and sandwiches.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stopping point for historic tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was very interesting as we were traveling around for historic homes and Cincinnati history. Amazing what history is to be found outside our own doorsteps.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great way to learn about Harriet Beecher Stowe's life and experiences before moving to Ct. I visited her home in Ct. last year and after planning a zip lining trip to Cincinnati area, realized she had lived here as well so I stopped in. It was well worth the visit. Area around the house is a little seedy but don't let it deter you. Picked up a pamphlet there on Maysville Kentucky. The original Underground Railroad Museum is located there. Along the way to that museum I stopped at the Rankin House(also a stop on the UR). The John Parker house is also on the route to Maysville. Would recommend them all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“It Wasn't Written Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Sorry to tell you that but Uncle Tom's Cabin was written after Harriett and her husband Calvin Stowe left Cincinnati moving to Bowdoin College in Maine. The irony here is that the Maine regiment of Joshua Chamberlain (see book KILLER ANGELS), who was affiliated with Bowdoin, held the left end of the Federal line on the second day of Gettysburg. Had that regiment not stopped Lee's troops, the battle and the end result of the war may well have been radically different. How coincidential to have two people who so greatly influenced the events of the American Civil War so closely intertwined.
What was important about her years here was the developmental influence it played in her life and her attitudes toward slavery. She moved into this house in 1830 with her father Lyman(along with 11 siblings) when he became the first president of Lane Seminary, suffered through the Lane Debates in 1834, and the race riots here in 1836. It would be her association with the escaped slaves - and the stories of slavery they told - and with the abolitionists of Lane that would provide her the stories that would be intertwined to become the plot of UNCLE TOM'S CABIN. For instance, the story of Eliza crossing the ice was based upon an actual event in Ripley, Ohio, another hotbed of abolitionism.
Currently, the house is owned by the Ohio Historical Society(www.ohiohistory.org) but run by a volunteer group(www.stowehousecincy.org) for OHS on a shoestring budget that limits hours(10AM-2PM daily) and days open. Check the website before you go. Parking is on the street adjacent to the property(valuables in the trunk, please). Donations are desparately needed if you visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harriet Beecher Stowe House also viewed

 

Been to Harriet Beecher Stowe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harriet Beecher Stowe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.