We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous gem of a church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption

Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption
1101 Madison Avenue, Covington, Kentucky, Cincinnati, OH 41011
859-431-2060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 189 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A gothic cathedral that has a design similar to Notre Dame in Paris.
Indiana
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gem of a church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We made a quick stop to visit the cathedral during a weekend in Cincinnati, and were glad we did. It's a beautiful building, and one could easily enjoy it in about 15 minutes or so. Well worth a stop.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“God's House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

One of the less than 35 minor Basilicas in the US. 80+ stained glass windows, each with a story and symbolisms galore. I had the honor of being a parishioner and was married here, so I've seen more than most. Take a tour. Visit with the guides. Celebrate a mass there. You WILL feel closer to God!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern KY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very beautiful sight to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I loved the detail and beauty of this church. The stained glass windows and artistry was amazing. My husband loved the huge pipe organ. We arrived when a mass was going on; no signs or times when you could go in; we waited til mass was over and asked a lady coming out if we could go in; she told us to go in and look around. While we were looking around they started turning off the lights (around 6 pm). I was surprised there was nothing posted telling when you could go in or anyone to give information; there was no sign that we could see with the church name on it, luckily had my GPS to find it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allgood, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Beautiful place! My 10 yr old niece was so intrigued with the stained glass windows and the mosaics. Peaceful sanctuary! Almost as if you traveled to Europe once you are inside. So glad we stopped in to see.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Absolutely beautiful Catholic church. It would have been nice to have a guided tour with background of the building architecture. There are books available about the internal statues, artwork and gorgeous stained glass.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.