We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ranger tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of William Howard Taft National Historic Site

William Howard Taft National Historic Site
2038 Auburn Ave., Mt. Adams, Cincinnati, OH 45219
513-684-3262 ext 201
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birthplace of America's 27th president, now a museum containing momentos of Taft's personal life and political career.
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great ranger tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a quick stop but the ranger tour is highly recommended. I learned a lot about Taft and the history of the area. The visitor center is quite small but the film is very informative.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“HISTORY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We love visiting NPS sites. Not being familiar with Cincinnati, the signage to get to the Taft Home was easy to follow. We had a nice tour of the house and then were left on our own to go through the rest of the house at our leisure. There is a very nice movie and displays in the visitor's center.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to take out of town-ers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I had some family visiting and took them here (I had never been before), and we had quite an enjoyable experience. The house was interesting, and the tour guide was really enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the place as well as the history around the Taft family. The tour guide's great attitude really made the entire experience worthwhile.

The only unfortunate thing is that most of the artifacts are period pieces instead of being formerly owned by the Tafts - but they did a great job restoring the home and have put in a few key Taft pieces so that it didn't matter. Was impressed with the work the National Parks Service put into restoring this place, and can't believe they ran the tours for free!

The only other tip I have is that I expected to only spend about half an hour to forty-five minutes here, but ended up visiting for much longer so beware of that when planning your trip!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love the National Park Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I can always count on the quality of a National Park Service historic site to be a pleasurable and informative experience. Taft's boyhood home was no exception.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthEast U.S.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice little history spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Not the most thrilling attraction in Cincinnati, but it fit the bill for a manageable dose of history and education - and it's free, too!. The Site is located downtown, and there is a small parking lot with free parking. Free guided tours of the house are given every half hour, and even though we arrived early the desk attendant at the visitor's center told us we could go ahead and start the tour. He took us across to the Taft house itself, where our guide led us through several rooms, telling us the history of the Taft family and pointing out which furnishings were actual Taft family belongings and which were merely period antiques. After our tour of the first floor, we were free to explore the second floor, which rather than being restored to its 19th century appearance is instead set up as a museum. We exited through the basement, which once held the Taft's kitchen and dining room but has not been restored yet. Returning to the visitor's center, we viewed an exhibit of photograph's taken during Taft's trips to Japan, the Philippines, and China. We also watched a short video about Taft's life and accomplishments. In all, we spent about an hour in the house & visitor's center. It's a good site for adults and older children with an interest in history, it's not too large, and it's free! Another bonus: nice clean restrooms :)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Howard Taft National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to William Howard Taft National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage William Howard Taft National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.