We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good - Some Not-So-Much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Museum of Art

Taft Museum of Art
316 Pike St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513-241-0343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 192 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a 175-year-old Federal building, this private art collection - one of the world's best - includes art from around the world, from 13th-century European sculpture to ancient Chinese porcelains to 17th-century European painting.
Lebanon, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Some Good - Some Not-So-Much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Okay - this review is from an individual who rarely visits art museums - so, for folks who are art devotees this might not apply, but for "regular folk", read on...

The Positives: Very impressive works of art with the focus toward paintings and china. A number of pieces just wowed us.

The Not-So-Much: When visiting a museum - there are basically two things we look for: (a) the collection and (b) the museum and general experience.
- The collection: as stated above they had some very impressive pieces, but it was fairly small and limited. It doesn't take long to see everything there is.
- The Museum and Experience: On the outside this is an appealing facility, but the folks who turned this old mansion into a museum basically screwed up. When you enter you do so from the parking garage and come into the back of the place and there is absolutely no sense of the grandeur of the building and grounds. The grounds are largely hidden from view. Inside the museum it is a bit dark everywhere and there is absolutely nothing special about the experience. I see no reason to go back again. If looking for a nice art museum to visit in the Cincinnati area consider the Cincinnati Art Museum.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Impressive collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were quite impressed with the collection. State of the art and security galore. The curator was available for questions. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visit with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Easy access, beautiful view of an unique aspect of Cincinnati. Well organized and coherent per wing. Loved the Daguerreotypes.
Inadvertently left an iPad on a very comfortable couch and it was returned inside 10mins by staff! For which many thanks!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Still a Gem in the Queen City's Crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Recently revisited the Taft Museum as I had an hour to burn between appointments in Cincinnati. The African American Art exhibit was"on" and although I am not African American, the exhibit was amazing. The diversity of the art from different artists and over a long period of time was interesting and educational for me. Once again, the Taft has risen to the challenge of making me "a believer" in art I likely would not have gone to see independently. This museum, although small has many great touring exhibits and a fine "in house" collection. Well worth your time to visit for an afternoon.There is a small cafe for snack/lunch although on weekends it is very crowded and you may need reservations. There is a nice gift shop. Free Parking is available in the garage behind the museum. Admission is charged. Note: This is an ADULT/ TEEN activity. There are no facilties for the amusement or care of children.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Unique Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited the Taft with a group of 6 adults and 3 kids. We went on Sunday with the museum was free. Our kids were 8-10 and I still felt like I had to hover. There are security people everywhere. The kids had fun playing I Spy throughout the rooms using the provided children's brochures. Since it is house, it has a different feel than the other museums I have been to. I enjoyed walking through the rooms. They have a very nice gift shop with some unique items. We made several purchases. Worth the visit especially if you are downtown on a Sunday.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taft Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taft Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.