We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum and exhibits ... but no children allowed.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Museum of Art

Taft Museum of Art
316 Pike St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513-241-0343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 86 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Housed in a 175-year-old Federal building, this private art collection - one of the world's best - includes art from around the world, from 13th-century European sculpture to ancient Chinese porcelains to 17th-century European painting.
Thoiry, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice museum and exhibits ... but no children allowed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Loved the Steichen exhibit. But unfortunately had a terrible museum experience with our 3 and 6 years old child. We couldn't make a step in the different rooms without being warned of the potential risk that our kids represented. Did they touch actually anything ? Did they actually dare to touch any of the beautiful paintings or piece of collectible furnitures ? Nop, not at all ... yes, they do speak louder and walk faster (not run) than the usual visitor, but are children doomed to be only accepted and respected in so called children's "museum" ? I wish not. Yes, even a 3 and a 6 year old child and their parents should be able to enjoy a decent art museum on a quite winter Saturday afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    8
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Always a great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a beautiful museum. They have different traveling exhibits, so check the schedule. You must go here at least once. It's a great place to bring visitors as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kid friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My son went here with his school and he loved it. So now we go as a family. I thank they have a free day. Check it out cool place to visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A small museum, I expect I was there for less than half an hour. All the exhibits where located on the second floor of an old house. There are two parts one with black and white photographs of celebrities but the first half of the twentieth century like Fanny Brice etc. I found that the most interesting. The rest of the pieces were placed in rooms of the house and included painting and decorations. I don’t finally of these memorable. It’s probably worth seeing if your spending an extended time in Cincinnati but it would not be on the top of my list of places to see. Adequate parking. I was there on a Sunday and it was free.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing art from Cincy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very well organised Art museum with great art, visitor friendly, very educative and relax. Reccomanded for all ages, schools, families !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taft Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taft Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Taft Museum of Art to your Saves list