We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History you can touch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Museum of Art

Taft Museum of Art
316 Pike St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513-241-0343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 85 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Housed in a 175-year-old Federal building, this private art collection - one of the world's best - includes art from around the world, from 13th-century European sculpture to ancient Chinese porcelains to 17th-century European painting.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“History you can touch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful classes and delicious cafe. Who knew the Museum was so much more than great ART! Great for all ages!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“beautiful treasure in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had lived here many years before visiting this lovely little gem of a museum. I loved the artwork, and there is a little cafe. It's a small place, doesn't take more than half a day to see, and is historic in every way. A must see.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved The Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife & I absolutely loved the museum, and all the rooms were gorgeous. We had lunch there on a Sunday & it was very, very good. Service is excellent. A plus: free admission & parking on Sundays.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you got a free day, a couple of hours, please go or”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went the last Sunday of the French Impressionists. First time here and loved that is is free on Sundays. This exhibit had approx. 45 paintings from Van Gogh, Pissarro,Monet and others., Short but Sweet. I like art, museums, hubby not so much. We went thru exhibit and went into the rest of the museum. This is a quick jaunt, but it is very beautiful and very unique. There are some very special pieces,,like a couple of Sargen's, chinese pieces, and the home is wow. Even hubby was impressed after walking thru the house. I wished we had taken advantage of the brunch in the museum, If you follow GPS to get there and you take 7th(whatever is north) street the museum is on a sharp left after turing corner and parking garage is under musuem. Cinncy is lucky to have this jewel. My not so art lover and I are going to be looking for special events and exhibits for our return.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lacking Focus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The museum has been around since 1881 and has a large collection but in its attempt to be comprehensive it serves as more of an introduction than an indepth focus. The Asian art section is quite large, though many of the pieces are rather quotidian. The American art selections are a bit lacking in major figures. The recent addition of 6000 objects from the collection in a salon style presentation is a clever way of showcasing items that are rarely exhibited, but who stashes away an early van Gogh while displaying many substandard European Impressionist and Post Impressionist works? Strange.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taft Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taft Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Taft Museum of Art to your Saves list