We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Museum of Art

Taft Museum of Art
316 Pike St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513-241-0343
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #17 of 80 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Housed in a 175-year-old Federal building, this private art collection - one of the world's best - includes art from around the world, from 13th-century European sculpture to ancient Chinese porcelains to 17th-century European painting.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is among the most enjoyable art museums I've ever visited. The beautiful house rooms in which the art is displayed very much enhanced the enjoyment of the art itself. The art is carefully and thoughtfully arranged. The Chinese porcelains were particularly intriguing. Although there is an admission fee, it is waived on Sundays.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Duncanson murals are important part of American History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I loved seeing the Duncanson murals and other decorative art at the museum. I went with a group of friends to see the murals and we were so impressed with museum and the grounds. We were met by members of the Duncanson Society who showed us what hospitality was all about. Certainly this museum is a must see for those in Cincinnati and worth a trip to Cincy to see

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The other art museum in Cincinnati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

For a small city, Cincinnati is blessed with many great museums. While the Cincinnati Art Museum is bigger, if you have time don't miss this gem on the east side of downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place has so many cool things for those willing to take the time to find it and then take the time to absorb it all. I feel rich and blessed after being here and being allowed to view all this collection of treasures from our past. Don't forget to plan for a light lunch before you leave this pleasant spot.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What travelers will especially like is that this museum has free admission, paid for by the Taft endowment, I believe. The rooms are large in this turn of the century building. It is a perfect showcase for art. It is not so large that it becomes overwhelming. We had a snack outside in the courtyard of the restaurant. There is a modern sleek updated restaurant that serves good food for lunch or a snack!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taft Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taft Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.