We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Room, Superior Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati

Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Goodman Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice Room, Superior Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I attended a recent conference here. The room had all the amenities I expected... free WiFi, coffee, deluxe bedding, refrigerator etc. The conference facilities were first rate.The real kudos go to the staff who went over the top in service. Clitches in my airline flight were quickly remedied by a super-helpful front desk staff. Forgot my ipod in the room, they were quick to locate it and send it to my home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    63
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
15
17
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

As a matter of full disclosure I have to say that I use Marriott more than other brands as I have a family member who works for them and I sometimes get Friends and Family rates.

We were staying just for two nights on a flying visit from the UK for a wedding. The staff were very friendly and helpfull and the room was very comfortable, these are what I now expect from a Marriott.

Car Parking is charged and I am not sure they need to do that, It would be better with a pool but that is being picky, my only gripe was returning on a Saturday and not being able to get something to eat at 2pm. We had to schelp to a local fast food restaurant only to find upon our return that they had served some peopel after we had left!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to university of Cincinnati. Staff excellent and helpful. Our room however had a leaking AC so half of the room's carpet was soaked. Not damp WET! We were just there a couple nights and not in the room much so we never asked to move but by the last night the carpet had that wet dog smell and even the bed was damp

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo, ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I attended a wedding reception here and stayed the night. The room was payed for by family otherwise I would have left and stayed somewhere else. I loved the hotel. The amenities in the room were very nice. (a real blow dryer, iPod dock stereo) but if you just want a place to stay, this isn't for you. It is over 100 a night. There's no continental breakfast but the breakfast buffet (which you pay for) was excellent. The bed was comfortable but I've slept on better at cheaper hotels. There could be a pool too..but the on site bar and lounge makes up for it! Perfect place for a wedding reception. The whole family stated so we had extra time to visit, being all in one place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I like this hotel. It has a grey staff and good restaurants. People working here are friendly and helpful. High quality in all they do. Rooms were good and business friendly with lots of plugs. It is well worth the price

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Though this has the Marriott Hotel name, it is not at that level. Location is great for university/ health-related travel, but nothing else, as others have said.

Despite my Platinum reservation of a king room in an apparently uncrowded hotel, I was given 2 queens in a "handicap room":
--The toilet flushed so slooooowly and weakly that it could barely manage a single sheet of TP--I actually had to use the conference room toilets downstairs
--The "view" was of an expansive tar roof
--There was dramatic moaning from machinery on the other side of the bathroom wall
--Handicap bathrooms are often subpar for those who don't need accommodation: in this case, the sink counter was tiny, the outlets were across the room from it, and the shower, since detachable, was very weak

Internet and food were fine. The staff were friendly, but not really on the ball. The Starbucks shown as at the hotel is actually a 10-minute winding walk away, behind the cafeteria on the second floor of the hospital. My boarding passes were printed out across the lobby from the computer, at the front desk, where I discovered that the top portions had been cut off; I had to reprint them on another computer, in another direction--no big deal, but not up to Marriott Hotel-level.

Would NOT stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the Marriot Kingsgate in Cincinnati in September 2012 for business. I am a Marriott Platinum member. First for those Marriott members with status you should know that there is no concierge lounge there which seemed strange to me since this is a full service Marriott. They partially make-up for it by offering status members free breakfast in their restaurant which is very nice. They have cook-to order omelets and eggs. I did find myself missing the evening food and desserts that you normally received in a concierge lounge.
The hotel itself is very nice. Rooms are clean and typical Marriott. The bar is probably the best thing about this hotel. They have some great bartenders. I had some fun laughing with “Ken” at the bar one night.
The worst thing about this hotel is that there is nothing within walking distance. No restaurants, no bars, nothing. We did have a car and ventured out but to be honest, there really is not much within a short driving distance unless you want to drive downtown but with parking etc.. it was not worth it. If the hotel was directly downtown, that would be great but having to drive back downtown at night and find a place to park and then walk to downtown restaurants makes it inconvenient.
If you want to be close to the university then this is the hotel for you. If you are in Cincinnati on business and want a hotel that will be close to restaurants and other activities, this is not the hotel for you. In fact, some of the neighborhoods to one side of this hotel are not exactly friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati

Address: 151 Goodman Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover unparalleled service and convenience at the Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center, a University of Cincinnati hotel. Centrally located on campus, our hotel showcases modern decor and stylish meeting space to create a unique setting for business or leisure. Delight in our inviting lobby fireplace as you make your way to renovated rooms adorned with 37 in flat-screen TVs and free wireless in all guest rooms. An ideal business location, with 26 meeting rooms and over 20,000 sq. ft. of gathering space highlighted by two cutting-edge amphitheatres. Conference guests can unwind with award-winning dining at Caminetto’s or enjoy drinks on the Bearcat Lounge Patio overlooking the UC campus. Be sure to take advantage of complimentary shuttle access to attractions and area hospitals. With acclaimed service, innovative lodging, and modern meeting space, the Kingsgate Marriott is your conference destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kingsgate Conference Hotel
Marriott Conference Center Cincinnati
Marriott Cincinnati
Cincinnati Marriott
Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center At The University Of Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.