We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Turf Club

Terry's Turf Club
4618 Eastern Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45226-1808
513-533-4222
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,668 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Be prepared to wait outside to get in to this tiny restaurant in an out of the way location. The burgers are big and great. Nice selection of brews. Lots of neon signs in an old tiny bar.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    79
    42
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“No Ray's Hellburger by a long shot but still better than many”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I ordered the Halloumi cheeseburger with burgundy wine, demi-glacé, cognac, wild mushrooms and truffles. It was..good. The quality of meat, however, was a bit underwhelming, to be honest with you. I guess having been to Ray's in Arlington, VA, I'm a bit spoiled as I expected a better quality beef. The fries were way too salty. Service was great and the atmosphere is fun.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burger in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We visted after a Red's game, got there about 10PM, and there was still an hour wait. Nevertheless, it was worth it. Everyone went home happy..and full.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“America America....best is this the best burger joint in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went to TTC as a group with the recommendation it was the best burger joint in the world. We were the only "non locals" to sit there last night which i always consider as a good sign. And the atmosphere was fantastic. No loud music, waiters who have not been hooted yet and are just normal, friendly waiters who deserve every penny of their tip and an unlimited supply of peanuts before the meal. There is no loud music so you can still have a human interaction with someone and it seems that all types of "soil" appliances get disconnected at the door which leaves room for socialisation. The design of the place is authentic, full of neon signage but very warm and you want to stay there for a while to let the spirit of the place sink in.
Then the "menu" came and we knew we were in for some serious treat...you choose your burger and your combination : i think the most exotic "ingredient" you can add is a jalapeno sauce. Noone asks you how you want it cooked or if you prefer broccoli or fries ( guess what the answer would be ?) . It is a burger joint not a museum of culinary science. The experience is great, the burger is juicy, tasty and big but in a human way : the beef patty is large but there is only 1 and it is not layered. It is......meaty. Even though I am not really qualified to name it the best burger joint in the world, it will have set my new "best burger i ever had" benchmark. At 12 USD, it is a great discovery.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A tiny place with tons of taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Terry's is certainly worth a visit but, if you can, try to avoid peak mealtimes. It's a tiny place, it can take a while to get your food, and lines get long waiting to either pick up or eat in. We usually go for lunch and show up at 11:30 on the days they open early, which gets us right in. It's busy and bustling with endless baskets of peanuts on the table and the shells from all those peanuts on the floor.

The burgers are monsters - they bring you a hefty steak knife so you can cut it since it's crazy hard to eat as is. There are other dishes and sandwiches on the menu - some change on a daily basis, others are standards. What I really like is that they care about you having a good experience. During a previous visit, my burger had clearly been cooked right next to a piece of fish - not a great taste! I mentioned it to the waitress, she whisked my plate away, and I had a replacement burger less than 10 minutes later - with fresh, hot fries. That's service! We've been at least 6 times and only run into that one issue - not bad at all.

It's definitely a place worth experiencing. It can be hard to find if you're not a Cincinnati eastside local, but that's what Google's for, right? Find Bella Luna and then go just a bit further west along Eastern Avenue and you'll find a Terry's - a great little hamburger joint.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Turf Club also viewed

 

Been to Terry's Turf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry's Turf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.