We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome cemetery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum

Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum
4521 Spring Grove Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45232
(513) 681-7526; (888) 853-2230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 85 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Cemeteries
Attraction Details
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beautiful large cemetery. We consider cemeteries like parks but with more sculptures and fewer screaming kids. Beautiful, beautifully kept, huge, pleasant place with some historical features.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    32
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best in the USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you are not a cemetery visitor you may be surprised. In the spring, this cemetery is alive with floral display. Wonderful flowering trees, ducks and geese; numerous ponds, and calming meadows. Just the history and dates on the monuments alone justify a visit to the arboretum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best place to go for all kinds of reasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

733 acres of pure beauty and history. I have taken my kids there over the years for all sorts of reasons. The kids had to do reports on all sorts of plants and trees and this was the place to look for them. Back in 1845 the Cincinnati Horticulture created Spring Grove and it has grown from there. We used to go feed the swans and ducks after church with the kids and take long walks. Beautiful place to take the best pictures.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“More than a Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I do not find cemeteries to be pleasant places: rows of headstones crowded into small spaces, graves with plastic flowers, an atmosphere of gloom beneath a veneer of artificial cheerfulness and usually neglect. Sooner or later we all end up there, whether to say goodbye to friends and family or taken to our own eternal residence.

Spring Grove is different: more a park and arboretum than just a cemetery. It is huge, historical and immaculately maintained. It is worth visiting for the flowers and trees alone. There are many old gravestones and monuments, some from famous Cincinnati families, others unknowns. Now they all can now spend eternity together in the same subdivision.

Spring Grove is one of the most beautiful cemeteries in the world. It is serene. If you are near Cincinnati, it is worth a trip

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beauty of Spring Grove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

There are so many reasons to love the historic Spring Grove Cemetery and Arboretum..... the flowers, the trees, the lakes, the fountains, and winding roads that take you on a journey through the history of Cincinnati and beyond. Spring Grove is dotted with graves of Civil War Soldiers, Cincinnati beer barons, ancient mausoleums and so much more. It is rich in history, alive with hope in the new growth and a place of everlasting peace all of which are captured so beautifully in a book entitled, "Beauty in the Grove", by Phillip Nuxhaull.

For me, it is a very special place... it is the place we chose to inter the remains of my son, who died at the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001. His name is Michael Edward Gould, a 29 year old securities trader @ Cantor Fitzgerald. His gravesite is marked by a black granite bench, etched with the Twin Towers and inscribed with the words, "For Michael and all those who perished on 9/11/2011." Today his gravesite stands as an everlasting of this tragedy and as the official Spring Grove 9/11 Memorial. We must never forget.

Peace and love abound...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum to your Saves list