We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I took an impromptu trip to Cincinnati during the Memorial Day weekend to visit the Freedom Museum. Our stay at the Westin was good. Check in was quick, the room was clean, the bed was so-so, and the location was Awesome. This hotel is walking distance to many attraction, only a few blocks to the museum. We used the valet to park when we arrived and did not move the car until we checked out.

A few negatives, the hallways were kind of drab, the carpet stained and needed to be replaced. The elevators were slow.

Overall a pretty good stay and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcharlton, Manager at The Westin Cincinnati, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Westin Cincinnati. We are please you enjoyed all the conveniences that are located within such a short radius of the hotel. We will begin our guest room and corridor renovations in November with a planned completion of the end of March. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to experience our new look. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    226
    119
    43
    31
See reviews for
113
175
50
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is an impressive looking hotel, right next to Fountain Square. Its large and resonably well equipped. The rooms are spacious. Beds are comfortable and rooms contain a large flat screen TV and coffee maker. Location of the hotel is very convenient in the centre of town. However a few other things to mention; Breakfast is down on the ground floor in a kind of communal city coffee shop which fills up with local office workers. There is a single cooking station which had a long queue each morning. Disposable plastic knives and forks, no table service. So i decided it was easier just to go for a yoghurt and fruit juice each morning to save time. We had a function and the food was pretty samey each day and pretty bland. We had coffee and tea servings for our meeting but the hot water container had tepid water which had to be replaced. There was no robe or slippers in my room, when i asked they were supplied. I agree with Jill's comments about the reception staff. It seemed they were trained to process you as fast as possible with limited information. I asked about local attractions and no-one had a clue. I think they could have a dedicated concierge/information desk like they do in most 4/5 star hotels. My overall impression was an okay functional hotel for business purposes but no wow factor at all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Fountain Sq have nice views but can be noisy at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcharlton, Manager at The Westin Cincinnati, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay at the Westin Cincinnati. We appreciate the open feedbak such as yours to better improve the way we do business. We hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you again soon. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our trip to Cincinnati was excellent, we stayed here at the Westin in downtown which was extremely convenient to everything. In just a few minutes you could walk to the baseball or football stadium, and it was a very nice walk to a small park just near the baseball stadium. Our trip included Kings Island and that was also just a short drive.

The hotel was excellent, very clean and accommodating. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We did have some children with us and used the pool, which was also very nice and clean. While we did not use the exercise room it was also very nice.

If you every need a place to stay in Cincinnati, this would be the place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcharlton, Manager at The Westin Cincinnati, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for the great '5-star' rating and the time taken to post your comments regarding you recent visit to the Westin Cincinnati. Our team appreciates your positive feedback and knowing their efforts help to create memorable experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back when your next adventure brings you to downtown Cincinnati. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed over the Memorial weekend for 3 nights. The hotel is right downtown, across from Fountain square (our room actually overlooked Fountain square), and close to Paul Brown Stadium, Great American Ballpark, and the riverfront. Hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating, allowing us to check-out late without a fee. Rooms are clean and up-to-date. While this hotel is usually out of our price range, we got a deal that we couldn't pass up. If it's affordable for you, we'd recommend staying here!

Green Features: They have a program that let's you turn-down room service in exchange for money off breakfast in their restaurant or rewards points. We participated and took the points option.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcharlton, Manager at The Westin Cincinnati, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review about your stay with us over Memorial Day weekend and the great '5-Star' rating. Our team is delighted to receive your comments and that your visit to Cincinnati became a memorable experience. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great hotel. Great service. Less than 20 min from King's Island. Straight shot on Rt 71. Couldn't have been more pleased! Ingredients Restaurant was great each morning. Swimming pool was great for the kids. Thanks Westin Cincy!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcharlton, Manager at The Westin Cincinnati, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Westin Cincinnati and the fantastic '5-star' rating. Our team is delighted you and your family had such a wonderful visit and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the very near future. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I went to downtown Cincinnati to celebrate our anniversary over the Memorial Day weekend. The Westin is nice and clean. We love the location, it is just a couple blocks from the Great American ballpark. On paper it is the best hotel to stay downtown. However there is a bar that is across Fountain Square that plays their music extra loud. EXTRA EXTRA loud. At first we thought it was music coming from the Taste of Cincinnati event that is also held in Fountain Square but at midnight that closed and yet the loud bass thumping music continued. It was so loud. Extremely loud. Finally around 2 am I called the front desk. She acted like she had no idea where the music was coming from. I said surely you had other complaint calls. She said yes a few but they stopped around 12;30AM. She did give us some helpful solution like moving rooms at 2AM and ear plugs. This hotel stay for one night was over $200 and we did not get any sleep until after 3am.
I'm sure the hotel isn't super jazzed to have the night club right next door banging the music so loud that the windows could shake but as a paying customer I am pretty upset. While checking out at the front desk I told the clerk once again how loud the music was and how we couldn't sleep. She said that when people check in they are told that the rooms facing Fountain Square hear the noise from the night club. Guess what!! When I checked in they didn't tell me that. The clerk also said next time we stay there ask for a room on the other side of the building. Really!!! Thanks for the insider tip 24 hours too late!!!
The hotel is clean, has comfortable beds and is in a really great location. I just wish that I could have slept. I would recommend this hotel for anybody who doesn't want to go to sleep until after 3am.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room facing Fountain square. If you do happen to get a room facing Fountain Square b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcharlton, Manager at The Westin Cincinnati, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay during the Taste of Cincinnati. We sincerely apologize for the noise disturbance and the lack of responsiveness you encountered by a member of our staff. We would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns directly, and at your convenience please contact our Director of Front Office at jamie.thompson@westin.com. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

For travelers to Cinci in August 2014 and beyond, my advice is to check to see if the Renaissance is open on your travel dates before booking at the Westin. Starwood Hotels, the Westin's parent company, is publicly traded and their stock has matched its ticker symbol (HOT) over the past few months. Unfortunately, its not because of this property.

This property has 3 things going for it. Its location is perfect right on fountain square. The beds are fantastic just as in other Westin properties. It is clean. Housekeeping was particularly good and the smell infused in the air really makes an impression.

Its negatives, however, are so severe one could easily forget its good qualities.

The valet is the singularly worst run valet I have ever seen. On both arrival and departure, it was slow and disorganized. From call to receiving our vehicle on Sunday morning was 37 minutes. The lady on the phone when calling for the call said 15 minutes or less. People were complaining about how unorganized and understaffed the whole operation was. The signage is confusing for both entering and exiting the porte cache. As the first and last impression of this property, it sure needs an operational overhaul.

The front desk staff was also not very helpful. On Saturday and Sunday mornings at approximately 8 am I had 3 questions I needed answered. I asked a fellow with wavy, thinning hair (I think named Andrew) 1) where the starbucks was, 2) if there was a place I could get some glasses cleaner, and 3) if there was a bathroom in the lobby. All 3 times he acted as if my questions were an inconvenience. On check in, Mika said to us three times we were in an upgraded room. It came off as if she was saying she was giving us an upgrade when we had already paid for a slightly larger room. I just just didn't think they were top notch.

The elevators were always full and difficult to get. While not at "crisis" level, this is also something which should be addressed.

This property has lots of potential given its location, but I will be giving the Renaissance a try as soon as it opens. I suggest you consider doing the same.

Room Tip: 623 has a nice view of Fountain Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcharlton, Manager at The Westin Cincinnati, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for completing a review about your recent stay in Cincinnati and the great comments regarding our location, our Westin Heavenly Bed and our cleanliness. We sincerely apologize for the challenges your experienced with the valet and lack of responsiveness encountered from a member of our staff. I would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns directly, and at your convenience you can connect with me at jeff.charlton@westin.com. I look forward to speaking with you and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#11 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.