We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dead central Westin you can set your watch to.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Save Saved
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Ottawa, ON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A dead central Westin you can set your watch to.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is located right downtown. It's across from the fountain/central square, which has some great restaurants (and an outdoor skating rink at the moment), and happening nightlife. Typical Westin, great staff, big rooms, nice and clean. Everything walkable, CVS, Macy's, whatever you need, effectively. The hotel is attached to a mall, so plenty of options there too. A friend complained he could hear the nightclub in the square, but I was facing another way so slept like the dead. Wifi great (not free unless you're a Starwood Gold member) and fast.

Cincinnati is going through some positive changes (a refacing of the downtown), so while the surrounding area might have a bit of hair on it, this is a definite option to stay.

I would stay here again on my next trip to Cincinnati, absolutely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    204
    112
    38
    28
See reviews for
105
166
48
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Westin was amazing. Not only was the hotel fantastic but the service was top notch. We stayed over the Christmas holiday in 2013 during unfortunate circumstances - a family member was being treated at a local Cincinnati hospital. Not only did they put our family in a 3-room suite for a reduced rate but comped room service. Truly exceptional service during a difficult family situation. Our family is extremely grateful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Just right for an easy weekend away in Cincinnati. Staff, particularly Marta, were excellent with friendly, helpful service and recommendations. Lots of great restaurants within a few blocks walk. Upgraded room was very nice and comfortable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I thought this hotel was decent--the room appeared fairly clean and is what I would consider 'standard'. For a Westin though, I kind of expected more. The rooms are really nothing special--especially for the price. The bathroom is tinyyyy, bed was comfortable as always at a Westin although I did see a few hairs on the other side of the bed from where I slept--yuck. The gym was packed in the morning and I had trouble getting a treadmill--wasn't what I would expect for a Westin gym. For the number of guests they appear to have staying there, they may want to consider a bigger gym--there just wasn't enough room.

The pluses are the bed was comfortable, all of the staff I encountered were really friendly and I like having Ingredients right downstairs too. This is also a great location and able to walk to lots. I think with some upgrades this could be a great hotel--It's not bad, I would stay here for work again but like I mentioned, it's not that great either.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for here nights for business back in September and enjoyed the stay. The hotel is very close to Fountain Square which can be fun as well as the stadiums and many great beer gardens. The restaurant in the hotel is pretty good too. I travel a lot for business so his is rarely said...their buffet breakfast and lunches were very good. Now that's saying something!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Crazy good service from a front desk agent (not management, agent).

I recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip. I left my phone in my room and didn't have time to go back to get it before my flight. I used Skype to call from the airport, desperate, and reached Marta B at the front desk and explained what happened. She was able to locate my phone and offered to either put it in a cab for me or overnight it to my home. Taxi would have been too late so I asked for Fedex. She took it to FedEx herself, packaged it (very well, I might add) and sent it for 8am delivery, then sent me the tracking information. All within an hour.

I simply cannot remember another time when a front desk agent at a hotel took such good care of me. That level of service and personal sense of ownership is remarkable and indicative not just of a dedicated employee, but a well run business.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This property is centrally located in the city and has great access to stellar restaurants.
Check in was friendly and helpful. Andrew had customer service in mind when we arrived. We were in a Fountain Square view room which is member level rooms. I recommend the extra $$ for this view. The room size was enormous for 2. The view was beautiful. The room product a bit tired. Not cleaned exceptionally well....found previous guests bottle cap on the floor, in plain sight, next to the bed. The bathroom was freezing! The floor was too cold to stand on with bare feet, while the room was perfectly warm. The Heavenly Bed is just that, heavenly! You don't want to get up! The concierge found a great breakfast for us a couple blocks over as well.

Room Tip: Fountain Square view, floor 9 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#11 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.