We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favored hotel when on a business trip to the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Save Saved
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #14 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My favored hotel when on a business trip to the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Pros:
- I love the beds, I always snuggle into their heavenly embrace. I also really like the fragrance of the toiletries they offer in the bathroom.
- If I get a room facing the Fountain Square side, the view is much better than facing the other way.
- Location, location, location: because of this, its easy to either just go for a walk to relax or explore the downtown area, or have a good meal. Currently, there is a Fedex/office supplies store on the first floor, and "Ingredients" if I get hungry and am on the run (though I haven't tried it). Its also within walking distance to the office, and I usually like to walk around instead of taking a cab.
- I also am a member of Starwood, so the points also count if I stay at this hotel
- Internet is fast and good for 3 devices, but its not free..you will have to pay for it unless there is an arrangement with a company that it will be waived

Cons:
- layout may be confusing to a first timer...you have to get up the escalator to go to the reception area to check-in
- elevator is tucked in a corner, so if you are huffing and puffing with your luggages, you probably need somebody else's help
- last time I stayed, unfortunately due to their being full, they said they could not accommodate my staying for 1 day out of the 8 days I stayed...which is weird, because for another officemate, they were able to find a way for her to stay on that day, but not on a Saturday, but they did find a way later...

Room Tip: Ask for Fountain Square side room, and usually you will get a good sleep unless there is some public...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    204
    112
    38
    28
See reviews for
105
166
48
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently stayed at The Westin because the Hilton which my husband and I normally stay for business was booked, during this trip I took ill and was in so much pain that I laid in the bed all day. The housekeeper Denise I believe her name is unaware I was in the room at her time of cleaning apologize for not knowing I was there, I simply said "I'm not feeling well" she clean the room and hope me well. To my amazing surprise less then 15 mins later I had a knock on my door with tea and cookies beautifully place on a tray complimentary of the hotel.
Its with tears that I write this because it was such a pleasure and a surprise to know that it's not just about business and that the Westin truly practice what they preach about taking care of their guest. Just the mention that I was not feeling well this housekeeper who I know consider a friend made sure I was attended to.. we some times fuss about the little things but isn't nice to know that at the Westin its never little when it comes to their guest being happy... The manager was great and i'm so thankful I was on the floor with Denise... You got it right this time Westin and since my husband and I have to be in Cincinnati every week on business you will always have my business.. thank you again for a memorable stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, In
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Westin for one night for a core experience trip for students. Prior to the trip the hotel staff provided excellent service in making hotel arrangements, and suggested activities for the students while in town. The hotel website is a great strength for the hotel in providing pictures and list of things to do close to the hotel. The location of the hotel was great in relation to the areas we planned to visit in the city. Upon arrival, check in was smooth, no errors in requests that were made prior to arrival. Students and Teachers enjoyed their stay. The rooms were clean and everyone had a great sleep. The breakfast provided a variety of options which worked well considering we had roughly 43 students and staff. Breakfast was awesome. The hotel staff provided excellent customer service and answered any question asked and provided assistance as needed. I would recommend this hotel to any group traveling to this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Again, I preface my reviews with "I LIKE LUXURY" and for 250.00 a night I sort of expect it. This hotel was o.k. We stayed on a Sunday night to which the bar was not open... at all... we were visiting Cincinnati for a concert at the Casino so we were hoping to have a couple drinks and appetizers close by. What we were offered was McCormick and Schmicks which is connect however was also not open around 3 or 4 p.m. The room was spacious and clean.. carpet appeared new and not stained. Upon arrival we asked if the hotel was booked because we were interested in the corner room (my sister had stayed there a couple weeks before) with a larger seating area was available to which the person at the front desk really just looked at us and never answered the question, so we just let it go because we didn't want to appear needy.
Valet very courteous, even though we had to walk out to the street for the cab he hailed for us. Overall would I stay again? Not for 250.00 on a Sunday night with no view.

Room Tip: If you dare and want double beds there is a room on a corner that has a bigger seating area. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piqua, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this Westin Hotel. We arrived a couple hours early and our room was ready. We choose a fountain view room,our room was on the 8th floor. If you are planning on staying out late this room is a good choice. However noise level is a little loud if you prefer to rest early. We were in town to attend Lewis Black concert at the Taft Theatre. The Westin is a short walk from this venue. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Valet parking cost was 28 dollars and the staff was on their game considering it was a Saturday night. Room was large and clean. I would recommend this hotel for your stay in Cincinnati.

Room Tip: Avoid fountain view if you prefer a more quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for two nights for a medical conference that I was attending. The location was easy to find. Valet parking was a bit pricey but the garage was full so I didn't have much of a choice. Breakfast was good both mornings. There is a restaurant in the lobby called Ingredients that has a lot of great choices and not too expensive. I did not like the fact that the WiFi is not free for guests. Other than that everything was nice. Elevators take a room key to get to guest floors so you don't have random people wandering around the hotel hallways. Good location right across the street from Fountain Square and some nearby decent restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on business or just visiting Cincinnati.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were pleased with our stay. The price $179 plus taxes ($209) plus parking seemed high but most hotels were sold out. We were able to check in early (Starwood member) and got on the preferred hotel (Saw the Pirates who satyed on our floor). Service was good and the rooms were clean. Nice shower and bath. Valet parking is $28 or if you park under the hotel (public) it is $15 per day. We actually prefer the Residence Inn but it was sold out. Went to a Reds game and Hall of Fame. Right across from Fountain Square. About a $6 cab ride to Casino and other popular areas you can walk.

Room Tip: Starwood member floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#10 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.