We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convience in downtown Cincinnati” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Convience in downtown Cincinnati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Westin is located on 5th street and is in a great location. Walking distance to many company HQ's and other attractions such as Great American Ballpark, Paul Brown Stadium, Fountain Square and the Banks.

The hotel is dated a bit but well kept. The prices aren't cheap but you're paying for the location. Similar hotels are priced about the same as well. Valet parking is $21.00 a day. The hotel seems to be heavily booked most of the time. Business travelers and sports fans during the Reds and Bengals respective seasons.

The rooms are decent sized and the bedding is typical for a Westin. Housekeeping was fine and minded my "do not disturb sign" when out.

A solid but but typical downtown hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    216
    116
    41
    29
See reviews for
110
170
49
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Westin Cincinnati has never let me down in providing excellent service. My wife and I travelled there for a social event at another hotel. Nothing against the hotel where the event was, but when we travel to Cincinnti my first choice is ALWAYS The Westin. We pulled up to Valet and met Brandon. He was very accommodating throughout the entire weekend. He told us that whenever we come down to make sure we ask for him. Julie from the Front Desk checked us in and was very pleasant throughout the process. She asked if we'd like a Fountain-view room and provided us with a 50% off coupon for room service or the Ingredients restaurant (which is amazing by the way). Check out also ran smoothly with Marta. I have no desire to stay at any other hotel in Cincinnati. The Westin Cincinnati is the only option you need to consider!

Room Tip: Ask what is going on at Fountain Square. It gets a bit noisy if there's an event. So if you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our check in was very efficient and the room was ready. And a very large room with a sitting area and a great view of Fountain Square. The hotel is expensive, even with corporate discount but the staff is great, the room is clean and comfortable and room service is fast. The valet service can be iffy but so much easier to let them park the car in the narrow parking garage. We always stay here when we are in Cincinnati and this stay only reinforces that. The coffee shop, Ingredients in the lobby offers made to order breakfast and lunch and is quite popular with the downtown office community. Must be fast too because the line is long and moves quickly.

Room Tip: Luxury kings are very large; Fountain Square view is a nice one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I recently held a large event in the Westin Cincinnati, I found the staff very kind and willing to go above and beyond the call of duty. Several mishaps on our end and they jumped in to make things better. The property is in a great location and the food was really good. If I hold another event in Downtown Cincinnati I will definitely go there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for a few weekdays and a weekend during a convention. Fortunately I used the convention rate; otherwise, I would not select this location because of the high prices. Apparently they are charging for the location, right across from the main downtown Cincinnati open-air plaza, where events take place and where games and performances are shown on giant video screens. That feature is cool but hardly worth the price. The basic rooms are clean but nondescript. There are some two-bed rooms that are more spacious and include a sofa. Convention attendees found the elevators excessively slow -- many even resorting to taking the stairs from double-digit upper floors -- even though the hotel wasn't full. Parking is plentiful underneath that plaza, which connects underground to the hotel, but it's fairly steep -- pretty much expected for a downtown garage in a fairly large Midwestern city. This hotel is several blocks away from the riverfront, where you'll find the Reds and Bengals stadiums as well as the Underground Railroad Museum. In good conscience I can't provide any other positive impressions. If your business is strictly limited to downtown or if you're locked into Starwood rewards, go ahead and consider this property. But if you plan to move around town during your stay, you'll find many better-value options on the outskirts of the city or near the airport on the Kentucky side of the river.

Room Tip: To be on the safe side, ask for a room on a low floor; the elevators are maddeningly slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loose Creek Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room is nice, bed comfy. Room service good, very pricy. Staff care, they welcome you as family. As for room and property all were quite clean. The lobby bar is quiet and just a place to get a drink and relax, some would say boring. Food choices in the hotel are a bit slim, like I said room service good and available 24 hours a day but you will pay 18.50 for burger/ fries. We travel with two chihuahuas and you will walk 3 to 4 blocks to take them to potty. I did not expect that. If you have things to do downtown this is a good location. Nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia,USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 3 days recently for a leisure trip. Our room was decently priced and surprisingly roomy. Most importantly it was very clean. Management was friendly and helpful. The only thing I could advise is to avoid fountain view if quiet is important. The music from across the street is very loud.otherwise I enjoyed this stay and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I am not a fan of Fointain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#11 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.