We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-round excellent downtown hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Save Saved
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #14 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“All-round excellent downtown hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent a Saturday night in Cincinnati, and thanks to a nice AAA rate I was able to stay at the Westin. The hotel is right downtown, with easy access to most everything. The valet parking was easy and the valet noticed that we had left a cell phone in the car and had it at the podium when I came back later to get it.

Like the last urban Westin that I experienced, this one has the lobby on the second floor. Check-in was easy. There's a nice cafe on the first floor, which is not the lobby, but it closes on Saturday at 4, as do many downtown cafe type places. That, my friends, will tell you all you need to know about downtown Cincinnati, and it left us having to walk two blocks (the horror!) to get a snack. There's a Panera Bread and a Starbucks that remain open even after 4.

We had connecting rooms on a high floor, overlooking Fountain Square. The room was large and bright during the day, with a reasonable amount of lighting for night. The room contained the usual flatscreen TV. The desk has a little popup power strip, which had only 2 outlets. This would not have been any sort of issue except that there weren't any other outlets readily available, and if you wanted to use the coffeemaker you needed to use the power strip for that as well.

The coffeemaker by the way, made good, strong Starbucks coffee and the real half-and-half was a nice touch. As a low level Starwood Preferred Guest member, we did get free bottles of water, though not free wifi. The wifi was $9.95 and we did not purchase it. It's free in the lobby and even on the first floor, which is not the lobby.

The room featured an actual refrigerator, which I liked and used. There was no bottle opener in the room, but they brought one up quickly with a phone call The bathroom is small and functional. The water pressure in the shower was adequate for me, but I don't have much hair. It would have taken my daughter a half hour to wash her hair. I think there was a safe in the closet, but we didn't use it.

There's a fitness center and lap pool on the top floor. The fitness center has a few treadmills, ellipticals and bikes, plus free weights and physio balls. You can rent workout wear, including sneakers, for $5.

The bed is comfortable and the rooms were quiet. I did not hear a door slam at any point. All in all, an easy, pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    204
    112
    38
    28
See reviews for
105
166
48
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have always been lucky with Westin hotels, and this stay was no exception. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the valet staff. The hotel is situated on Fountain Square which has several restaurants and department stores for you to visit. The hotel is only four blocks from Paul Ryan Stadium and The Great American Ballpark. The pool, hot tub, and workout facilities are top notch. I also enjoyed eating in the Ingredients cafe in the lobby. The only suggestion I have for this hotel is to update the carpets and the sink base. They were showing some wear which is perfectly understandable since this hotel is an older property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

There is not enough I can say about the high level of service I have received at the Westin Cincinnati. From the doormen to the front desk to the housekeeping and engineering staff, I am always welcomed with consistent smiles and a can-do attitude which is unparalleled in Cincinnati.
I've been coming to Cincinnati for years, and the Westin is always a wonderful experience.

The hotel is nice, standard quality for what you'd expect at a Westin. Solid business hotel, clean and up-to-date contemporary decor and furnishings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Business travelers know the value of good service, yet we struggle to often find it. Look no further than Ms. Vos. With a courteous smile, she turned my printing dilemma (Kinkos closed and the hotel only offering b/w printing) into "done".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff was very helpful at the Westin, making some adjustments to our schedule which took some time to work out, but helped us out greatly in the end. The place is surrounded by 5 star restaurants within two blocks in every direction. Other attractions in Cincinnati can be easily accessed by car or taxi. The only drawback for us were some noisy convention people who yelled and screamed going to their rooms every night. Not really something the hotel can prevent.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the fountain. Not much street noise gets into the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

i was there for my sister's wedding and it was very nice and the staff took care of most things. this was at least 15 years ago, so i do not know if the staff has changed. we rented half of the ballroom. it was expensive then, but it was a nice location and it was nice that the out of town guests didn't have to go far for the ceremony or reception.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After recently completely a 3-night stay at the Cincinnati Westin, I can't say enough good things about the staff here. They are uniformly conscientious, helpful, and friendly. The food service, housekeeping, and catering/events staff really impressed me by going out of their way on several occasions to make sure my stay was perfect. My traveling companions noticed the same thing. The Westin really has a treasure here in their workers.

The rooms are comfortable and immaculate and the beds are AMAZING. Fitness center is not large but impressive still.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#10 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.