We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Londonderry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed recently for 2 nights for a girl's weekend. The room was comfortable and clean. The location was excellent for the ease of walking to restaurants, bars and shopping. We especially felt comfortable walking after dark in the immediate area, although of course we were cautious. There appeared to be plenty of people walking the area after dark. Plus it is only about 2-3 blocks to "The Banks," with more restaurants and bars.

The Starbucks was a nice surprise for breakfast with made to order breakfast items available and for a good price that we paid extra for with the room

Parking garage was a surprise with the close quarters and the corkscrew turns which made it somewhat difficult to navigate our vehicle around the curves without rubbing the tires on the curb.

Would like to try the stay in the warmer weather again.

I wish they had free WIfi available as so many people can have better use of their Ipads, computers, etc. Nowadays it appears just about everyone has a need for this and most hotels offer it free to their customers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    226
    119
    43
    31
See reviews for
113
175
50
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location and the room was very clean but there are a couple of shortcomings. For $140 per night including tax, I expect wifi to be complimentary. Also, the self-parking under the building has a very tight corkscrew entrance and a self-pay kiosk that isn't user friendly. Finally, the hallways are rather dimly lit and the drab grey wall/carpet colors make this worse, and the furniture in my room looked kind of worn. This hotel needs a makeover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dejuan A, Manager at The Westin Cincinnati, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear John L.,

Thank you for your favorble remarks in regards to the cleanliness and location of the hotel. Complimentary internet service is available as a welcome amenity for Gold level Starwood Preferred Guest members and Platinum level SPG members receive complimentary internet.

We appreciate you taking to time to share your experiece with TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Stay well,

DeJuan Anderson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Westin in Cincinnati is well located in the city center, with a McCormick and Schmick in the building, a Brazlian steakhouse across the street, and only minutes from the local favorite, Montgomery's Ribs.

Its an avergae westin, so a stepo above the Sheraton, clean, pleasant staff. I didn;t have any experience that was a WOW factor, but notg negative. Perhaps my standards are high, but I put this at a 4 because it meer Westin Expectations

Room Tip: I resommend asking for a view of the 5/3rd area...good view to people watch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I only stayed at the Westin one night. The rooms/facilities are clean but the shower pressure was weak. Rated the service slightly below the rest because I asked the front desk if they had a concierge and they simply responded "no". There was no follow-up of "can I help you with something?"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice hotel but could use some TLC. There were no extra batroom needs such as shampoo, or bar soap. I needed to make a phone call but there was no phone book in the room. The furnave in the room was hard to regulate, temp said 70 but alot of cool air circulated around the room. The beds were fine and the room was clean. The bar was nice but a little pricey.

Room Tip: The rooms were clean and comfortable but just needed a little extra to make it a 5 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed at Westin Cincinnati from March 4-7, 2013 in Room 435. Here are my observations:
1. Impossible to control the hot water in the sink with the hot-cold mixer. delayed response and always hot water comes out.
2. No Shampoo or conditioner replenishments were provided during the three night stay
3. No drinking water bottles were provided after the first day. A note was left by the cleaner lady and I quote "My applogies !! Will return with water when it becomes abailable". Never returned with water :-)
4. Two very noticeable red stains on room carpet. Never expected this at Westin
5. Remote control batteries were dying out.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Fountain side view. I was given a room with very poor south side view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The first night of my stay, I had to change rooms, it was extremely hot, maint offered a fan saying they don't have AC turned on in the hotel. Same evening someone opened my door came in then left. Housekeeping left my sheet hanging on the floor, towel thrown over the shower and left me an opened bottle of water that someone drank partially. Cordless phone didn't work, key card didn't work in the elevator one day, it worked the next day. One day housekeeping didn't come. I have bites on my neck, throat and chest. Last but not least they couldn't fine my luggage - finally they found it. All this happened in 5 days, everything was reported but absolutely nothing was done by management.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 1221.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#11 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.