We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice business digs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really nice business digs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Has everything I could want from a business hotel: comfortable, nice room; fast Internet; convenient restaurant downstairs (heck they even made a veggie omelet for me w/o the full cost of a buffet); easy walking distance to lots of businesses downtown.

My only negative is the Westin chain doesn't give you United miles like Marriott - only if you fly Delta. I get that CVG is a Delta hub but still - Starwood should work with other carriers.

Room Tip: I faced the fountain and it was nice - though not much going on when it's 27 degrees out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hepburntracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Location is pretty convenient for events in downtown Cincinnati and across the river in Covington. Beds are comfy heavenly beds, rainfall shower heads are nice, pool is always a hit with the kids. There are just a couple of negatives that cause my three star review.

1. The parking garage below the hotel is insane if you have a bigger vehicle. Ive been in a million of them and it's easily top 5 worst. I have a suv with parking guidance and still break out into a sweat trying to make it around the teeny tiny concrete turns.... Usually switch and take the hubby's Prius if I remember beforehand how bad it is.

2. The elevator situation in the hotel. Omg. It's out of control. There are always 20 people standing around waiting on any one of the three to show up. Overheard one person say they had waited 20 minutes earlier that day, another one saying when they were there the weekend before the staff was taking people up/down in the staff elevators, saw more than one group of people give up and take the stairs from the TENTH floor! Lol! Wasn't a major issue for us but could easily cause problems if in a time crunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stlouischick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If your going to be anywhere downtown this place is great. Fountain Square is right across the street. You can walk to a Reds/Bengals game. Restaurants aplenty as well. Would have given it an overall 5 but the lounge and restaurant are inadequate.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samisez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Westin in Cincinnati. In my opinion, it is the best place to stay in town. It is clean and the location is excellent. If you are planning on staying in Cincinnati and you want to stay in the heart of downtown, there is no better option. But, do not pay listed price! My first stay was through Hotwire, which was heavily discounted. My second stay used a promotional rate they had with a full price night followed by the price of your birth year the second night. This promotion was not listed anywhere on their website and I never received any email communication back from the Westin Cincinnati management, despite multiple emails. I called them directly and learned of the promotion.

My wife and I go to Cincinnati for a weekend every summer and really enjoy the location of the Westin. But, we have noticed the other side of the river, Newport, has really developed quite a bit the past couple of years. We are considering staying there since it is cheaper and there are a number of activities to do now.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Fountain Square. Especially when the city runs their summer festivals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling-Illini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We travel a lot and the thing that makes the difference for us is how we are treated by the hotel staff. At the Westin in downtown Cincinnati you are always treated well, but Luke at the front desk went well beyond the call of duty to make sure we enjoyed our stay. I had several requests for him and he handled them professionally and promptly rivaling any service we have ever received. Beyond his service his attitude was exceptional. Though I had difficult questions about the property and what we needed he was pleasant the entire time, unlike so many in this industry. The reputation of a hotel relies largely on their staff. Westin, you are putting a stellar face forward when Luke is helping your customers. Truly remarkable service by him. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Fountain Square rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you're coming to stay in Cincinnati for even a few days, staying at the Westin is the way to go. Heck I live 30 mins from downtown Cincy and I'll stay here if I need to be down there for a weekend.

Is a swanky uber fancy hotel, yes. But it doesn't have the price tag. You can easily get a room from $100-$150, and the rooms and location are worth every cent. First off the hotel itself. The rooms are simple and clean, without being overly bright. Rooms with views, with heavy curtains if you don't want it. The beds... Oh the beds! I felt like I was sleeping on fluffy clouds! And they also had pillow options from fluffy to firm, which I love when traveling with my fiance or my family, or even when I feel like mixing things up myself!

Its got a bit of a city center in the lobby. Coffee shop, deli, gift shoppe, office supply mini store, and an amazing restaurant. The restaurant will what will set you back, but their wine list is amazing! And they have a patio to enjoy the city when its warm. On the second floor is a steakhouse/seafood place that offers nicer views, not as fancy, but still pricey and good.

And the city. Right across the street is Fountain Square, which has a few restaurants and an ice cream place, and a gorgeous fountain in the middle. This is where the city seems to hang out. Lunch, dinner and late night, no matter the weather. Yes there are more people in the summer, but in the winter there's an ice rink! There is also a Macy's across the other street with a few other boutiques and a Tiffany's in the building as well. On the other side is an indoor city center mall area, with skywalks to go over the busy rode and take you to the bus terminal literally a block and a half away. Actually if you're wanting to hop across the river to party or eat or do business there is whats called a TANK trolley that runs there that stops right in front of the Westin. Or you can walk across a pedestrian bridge across the river, but that's at least a mile round trip if not more, but still nice and pretty.

The staff here is top notch. They offer free valet that's parked in a safe garage right underneath the hotel, so car retrieval is pretty quick! And these gentleman are nice and friendly and well groomed. Seriously the nicest valets I've ever dealt with! If you call the front desk they answer promptly and if you need anything they get it up to the room in under 10 minutes.

Like I said it's not by any means cheap cheap, but I would have seriously expected to pay well over $200 easy especially for the location to literally everything! withing a half mile to both the Bengals and Reds Stadiums, the convention center, the city center, shopping, food, transportation, bars, nightlife, entertainment, seriously this place has it all and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iagomega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Overall I was quite happy with my experience here.
There was a room rate issue due that was caused by my booking agent. However, the lady at the front desk (Julie R) was super professional in helped me resolve it quickly.
Moreover, another gentleman, Luke, took care of my checkout and made sure to contact my bank to ensure the correct transaction was debited to my account.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaled I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#2 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#15 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#19 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#11 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#15 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing