We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
East Patchogue, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for business the week of 12/10/12. Hotel is across street from Macy's & Tiffany's. Surrounded by many restaurants (both high end and quick take-out). Only a few minutes away from Federal building. Great view of the Fountain. Spacious room. Friendly & attentive staff. I will definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    245
    122
    47
    31
See reviews for
126
194
50
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Returning for the 4th year for a birthday getaway, we were met by the valet who recommended saving the extra money and simply going down the ramp to park ourselves. A welcome surprise reminiscent of Miracle on 34th Street. Upon check-in we were given our room assignment and with a simple request for a Fountain Square view room, Shondale offered up the $30 upgrade for nothing - it's your special occasion, enjoy. We were treated to a 12th floor room at the center of the ice rink and the Saturday night fireworks show. Thanks Shondale, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This Westin just does not seem as good as other Westins. I've tried it twice, and I think my Westin love affair in Cincinnati is now over.

The first time I stayed here, the bathroom in my first room was not up to my standard (which admittedly is not everyone's standard). There were spots on the toilet. So I asked for another room. I just didn't know what the spots were (they were light yellowish in color). I grabbed a tissue and rubbed at the spots a bit and then said,"You know what? I'm just going to get another room."

So I called down and asked for another room and they sent a woman up (she seemed like a manager or supervisor of some sort) and while she was professional, she did rub me the wrong way. She came to room #1 and was going to walk with me to room #2 - which was on a different floor. She asked me, almost as an after thought, if I wanted help with my bag. The issue I had was that she was *really* asking the question (if I needed help with my bag), and the woman I had spoken to on the phone had said she was sending someone to help with my bag. So, I was surprised she even asked me this. Who wouldn't want help with their bag when moving to a second hotel room because the first room was not a great one. Did she think I wanted to lug all of my stuff all over the hotel?

At any rate, she grabbed my bag after I told her that, yes, I wanted help with my bag. We then went to the next room and she said to me, almost firmly, that she would stay while I inspected the room. This happened about a month ago, and I can't remember her exact words, but I will say I was a little irritated, because I felt that that put pressure on me to do a thorough inspection that moment. Whatever. If anyone knows me, they know I will change a hotel room if I discover something not to my liking. So I let her know that it looked fine, but that I would certainly call if that assessment changed. I later realized that one of the lamps was broken, but I let it go.

Fast forward to my second time here - my room is okay. But, 1) there is hair in the tub and 2) there is a section in the bathroom that smells mildewy. It just stinks. Maybe like they used a "sour" rag to clean the bathroom. 3) the bathroom faucet is leaking. And 4) housekeeping did not do a great job with my room on day #2.

Things I do like about this hotel.

1. The location is great.
2. I like the workout room - it's small but functional and clean.
3. I like the gift shop.

So there are some likeable things about this hotel. But I'm going to keep looking for a better hotel during my visits to Cincinnati.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. When we checked in both my boys were given adorable Westin Kids backpacks with goodies inside. The staff was exceptionally friendly, and one of the women working int he restaurant gave them complimentary cookies one day. The pool was PERFECT for burning off some energy, and it had amazing views of the Cincinnati skyline. The location was great. It's literally directly across from the US Bank ice rink in fountain square, great restaurants and shopping (from Macy's to Saks Fifth Avenue)! The rooms are appropriately spaced and quiet. I love that they have refrigerators to store things and come with two bottles of complimentary water. There's a single cup Starbucks coffee maker in the room, but if you're a perfectionist, Starbucks is literally right out the front door.

Room Tip: If you have kids, the two double bed room is quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Being in the Westin multiple times over the last 2-3 years. Always for business. Always an ok hotel.

Rooms are clean although they're getting old and tired. The workout area is ok (the Hilton next door has a better one) but the pool is great. No breakfast offered but the Ingredients downstairs is great.

Room Tip: The higher the better (away from the noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I went there without a reservation. Get a unclean room in the 4th floor for 119USD where I can see just walls. The room has its cables lying just on the floor (just one plug in the wall and those hubs to plug in others ) , no light switches (you have to stand up), no shower-gel, no ventilation, the hair-fan is not able to make warm, the AC is very loud, the swimming pool is closed due to maintenance, the elevator is the slowest in the world (5min+ waiting time in AVERAGE) and the parking garage is very expensive (i payed more than 40USD for 2 days). Breakfast is also expensive (2 egg-toast with ham and 2 coffee for 26USD).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Westin in Cincinnati is an excellent hotel, conveniently located just a 10 minute walk from the football stadium, baseball stadium and hockey arena. If you're heading to that city for a sporting event, the Westin is an excellent option. The rooms are modern, comfortable, spacious and clean. The price for my weekend represented an outstanding value.

The hotel has a decent bar as well as a cafe with very good options for breakfast, lunch or just a quick snack. Overall the hotel is well located within the city and a number of restaurant and bar options exist within a a couple block radius.

Room Tip: Double/queen rooms are fine, but roll-away beds are not an option in case you need a 3rd bed. King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#10 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#13 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.