We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Save Saved
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #12 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our recent stay at the Westin Cincinnati was very pleasant. We enjoy staying here because of it's great location and good service. A nice view of Fountain Square and at this time they are getting the tree ready for the annual tree-lighting coming up this Friday.
We love to eat at Ingredients and enjoy walking through the hotel and looking at all the photos of "old Cincinnati". Also,gotta love those heavenly beds!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    199
    106
    38
    27
See reviews for
102
156
48
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wonderful as always!!! 4th anniversary there!!! We just love that place :)
Everybody was so polite and nice. Always helpful and attentive.
Our bedroom was perfect!! the view of the Fountain Square is the best!!!! Specially at night with all the lights and the ice rink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Spent one night here on business. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. I wouldn't say it was luxurious, but it was adequate without any issues. There was a good desk and enough outlet space (not high style, but they had a power strip under the bed where you could charge all devices overnight). I didn't take advantage of it, but I really like the idea that they will lend you sneakers & gym clothes to work out in so you don't have to pack them in your suitcase. I would call this an average Westin (building seems a bit old) if you're familiar with the chain's other properties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Best thing about the Westin is the great location across from Fountain Square and therefore accessible to all downtown Cincinnati restaurants & bars, with the friendly and efficient staff coming a close second. Worst thing is probably the limited in-hotel dining options, which isn't too much of a disadvantage given many dining options around the hotel area.

The restaurant downstairs, 'Ingredients' has a limited menu but very friendly staff and an excellent salad bar. Rooms are of reasonable size and well-maintained. The staff at the desk as well as housekeeping are helpful and efficient. The 24 hour gym is well-equipped and their $5 westin workout option (gym clothes and shoes for $5) is a great idea when traveling light.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the square have a good view but can let noise in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old tappan ,nj
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you want a hotel that has a cafeteria for a restaurant , if you want an office building filled with bums at night to be your hotel, if you want the head of security to be an arrogant fool who has forgotten who the guests are and whom the bums are, if you want to have to walk over vomit on the sidewalk of the hotel circular driveway which the hotel employees make no attempt to clean , and if you want a room whose bathrooms are as small as a stamp , the Westin Cincinnati is perfect for you.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The great thing was that we used points, so we did not have to pay for our night at the Westin. The hotel is good, but not want you expect from Westin. When I think Westin I think upscale. While you have the normal things like the Heavenly Bed which is great, our bathroom tub was dirty. The drain in the tub did not drain very well.

The workout area had lots of machines in good working order. The only issue is that there were 3 unsupervised children in the workout room. While I know this more of an issue of poor parenting, I would expect hotel staff to regulary check areas like the pool and workout facility for unsupervised kids.

The nice thing about the location is that you can walk to everywhere in downtown including the stadiums, restaraunts, and bars.

Like I said it was great, because we used points. I would have been harsher in my review if I would have paid $200+ for the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

First off the attitude of the staff is amazing. My father and I came down for the giants vs bengals game which was played on Sun 11-11-12. My dad knows a lot of the giants team doctors and wanted to say hello. A heavyset security guard named Mike who has the personality of a fish thought he was a cop and wouldn't allow anyone to the giftshop or to their rooms because the NY Giants were using the elevators. Next, the resturant is abysmal. I get told by the night manager the only place for breakfast is a restuarant that looks like a highschool cafeteria. I also had turn down service and of course they took all the clean towels out of my room and left me with no barely no towels, or any amenities. I agree with the previous post the hotel is definitely not as clean as most Westin's. The bathrooms are two by nothing and if security would worry about patrolling the place a little more and not trying to be dictators maybe this place would be alot better. Most of the staff should go back to realizing in order to suceed in the hotel this day and age some manors might work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#11 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.