We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fine Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Spent one night here on business. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. I wouldn't say it was luxurious, but it was adequate without any issues. There was a good desk and enough outlet space (not high style, but they had a power strip under the bed where you could charge all devices overnight). I didn't take advantage of it, but I really like the idea that they will lend you sneakers & gym clothes to work out in so you don't have to pack them in your suitcase. I would call this an average Westin (building seems a bit old) if you're familiar with the chain's other properties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    213
    115
    40
    29
See reviews for
109
170
49
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Best thing about the Westin is the great location across from Fountain Square and therefore accessible to all downtown Cincinnati restaurants & bars, with the friendly and efficient staff coming a close second. Worst thing is probably the limited in-hotel dining options, which isn't too much of a disadvantage given many dining options around the hotel area.

The restaurant downstairs, 'Ingredients' has a limited menu but very friendly staff and an excellent salad bar. Rooms are of reasonable size and well-maintained. The staff at the desk as well as housekeeping are helpful and efficient. The 24 hour gym is well-equipped and their $5 westin workout option (gym clothes and shoes for $5) is a great idea when traveling light.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the square have a good view but can let noise in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old tappan ,nj
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you want a hotel that has a cafeteria for a restaurant , if you want an office building filled with bums at night to be your hotel, if you want the head of security to be an arrogant fool who has forgotten who the guests are and whom the bums are, if you want to have to walk over vomit on the sidewalk of the hotel circular driveway which the hotel employees make no attempt to clean , and if you want a room whose bathrooms are as small as a stamp , the Westin Cincinnati is perfect for you.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The great thing was that we used points, so we did not have to pay for our night at the Westin. The hotel is good, but not want you expect from Westin. When I think Westin I think upscale. While you have the normal things like the Heavenly Bed which is great, our bathroom tub was dirty. The drain in the tub did not drain very well.

The workout area had lots of machines in good working order. The only issue is that there were 3 unsupervised children in the workout room. While I know this more of an issue of poor parenting, I would expect hotel staff to regulary check areas like the pool and workout facility for unsupervised kids.

The nice thing about the location is that you can walk to everywhere in downtown including the stadiums, restaraunts, and bars.

Like I said it was great, because we used points. I would have been harsher in my review if I would have paid $200+ for the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

First off the attitude of the staff is amazing. My father and I came down for the giants vs bengals game which was played on Sun 11-11-12. My dad knows a lot of the giants team doctors and wanted to say hello. A heavyset security guard named Mike who has the personality of a fish thought he was a cop and wouldn't allow anyone to the giftshop or to their rooms because the NY Giants were using the elevators. Next, the resturant is abysmal. I get told by the night manager the only place for breakfast is a restuarant that looks like a highschool cafeteria. I also had turn down service and of course they took all the clean towels out of my room and left me with no barely no towels, or any amenities. I agree with the previous post the hotel is definitely not as clean as most Westin's. The bathrooms are two by nothing and if security would worry about patrolling the place a little more and not trying to be dictators maybe this place would be alot better. Most of the staff should go back to realizing in order to suceed in the hotel this day and age some manors might work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Found this to be a fantastic hotel. The staff is incredible and helped me out tremendously when the hotel was technically sold out. When my flight was cancelled and I had to return from the airport, they nevertheless were able jump some hoops and find me a lovely room to stay in. Kudos to Julie, Mieke, and DeJuan, they are the best!! Lovely pool with incredible view over Cincinnati, good weight room, fantastic proximity to Graeter's (the best ice cream in Cincinnati if not the world!!), and many other great eating places around Fountain Square. Really nice cleaning and maintenance staff. Found the facilities to be scrupulously clean. Also, nice in- house bar with run by Thad, a friendly and skillful barkeep.

The in-house restaurant (Ingredients) with healthy and delicious meal choices, so difficult to find these days, with a friendly, knowledgeable and most helpful staff headed up by Justin. Just wish it was open later!!

I would disagree with previous writer who stated that there were homeless people throughout the lobby. The building was obviously built with an "atrium" area that is a public space. Therefore, no one can be denied entrance to this public area, but in any case, I did not find that people passing through this area presented any threat to my safety. The actual hotel lobby is reached by an elevator or escalator and is on the second floor. It is a private area that is not open to the public. The hotel appeared very safe to me and I truly doubt that a stay there involves any risk whatever to one's security, regardless of one's gender or age.

Forgot to mention the beds. Mattresses feel like clouds, every bed has a heavenly down quilt.

Really, all in all, 5 star hotel. What's not to like???

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Downtown Cincinnati is very compact, so all the downtown hotels are pretty convenient to the conference center. After reading several reviews, I decided on the Westin and was generally very happy with the hotel, especially the breakfast area downstairs that recognizes that most people travelling for business would prefer to grab a quick, healthy bite and work on their laptop, rather than wait for table service. The hotel room was clean and spacious enough to comfortably share with a colleague. The gym was adequate and all the equipment worked (not always the case in many hotels) My only complaint is having to pay for wireless internet in this day and age.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#10 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.