We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Westin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Save Saved
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not your typical Westin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The great thing was that we used points, so we did not have to pay for our night at the Westin. The hotel is good, but not want you expect from Westin. When I think Westin I think upscale. While you have the normal things like the Heavenly Bed which is great, our bathroom tub was dirty. The drain in the tub did not drain very well.

The workout area had lots of machines in good working order. The only issue is that there were 3 unsupervised children in the workout room. While I know this more of an issue of poor parenting, I would expect hotel staff to regulary check areas like the pool and workout facility for unsupervised kids.

The nice thing about the location is that you can walk to everywhere in downtown including the stadiums, restaraunts, and bars.

Like I said it was great, because we used points. I would have been harsher in my review if I would have paid $200+ for the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    206
    114
    38
    28
See reviews for
106
168
49
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

First off the attitude of the staff is amazing. My father and I came down for the giants vs bengals game which was played on Sun 11-11-12. My dad knows a lot of the giants team doctors and wanted to say hello. A heavyset security guard named Mike who has the personality of a fish thought he was a cop and wouldn't allow anyone to the giftshop or to their rooms because the NY Giants were using the elevators. Next, the resturant is abysmal. I get told by the night manager the only place for breakfast is a restuarant that looks like a highschool cafeteria. I also had turn down service and of course they took all the clean towels out of my room and left me with no barely no towels, or any amenities. I agree with the previous post the hotel is definitely not as clean as most Westin's. The bathrooms are two by nothing and if security would worry about patrolling the place a little more and not trying to be dictators maybe this place would be alot better. Most of the staff should go back to realizing in order to suceed in the hotel this day and age some manors might work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Found this to be a fantastic hotel. The staff is incredible and helped me out tremendously when the hotel was technically sold out. When my flight was cancelled and I had to return from the airport, they nevertheless were able jump some hoops and find me a lovely room to stay in. Kudos to Julie, Mieke, and DeJuan, they are the best!! Lovely pool with incredible view over Cincinnati, good weight room, fantastic proximity to Graeter's (the best ice cream in Cincinnati if not the world!!), and many other great eating places around Fountain Square. Really nice cleaning and maintenance staff. Found the facilities to be scrupulously clean. Also, nice in- house bar with run by Thad, a friendly and skillful barkeep.

The in-house restaurant (Ingredients) with healthy and delicious meal choices, so difficult to find these days, with a friendly, knowledgeable and most helpful staff headed up by Justin. Just wish it was open later!!

I would disagree with previous writer who stated that there were homeless people throughout the lobby. The building was obviously built with an "atrium" area that is a public space. Therefore, no one can be denied entrance to this public area, but in any case, I did not find that people passing through this area presented any threat to my safety. The actual hotel lobby is reached by an elevator or escalator and is on the second floor. It is a private area that is not open to the public. The hotel appeared very safe to me and I truly doubt that a stay there involves any risk whatever to one's security, regardless of one's gender or age.

Forgot to mention the beds. Mattresses feel like clouds, every bed has a heavenly down quilt.

Really, all in all, 5 star hotel. What's not to like???

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Downtown Cincinnati is very compact, so all the downtown hotels are pretty convenient to the conference center. After reading several reviews, I decided on the Westin and was generally very happy with the hotel, especially the breakfast area downstairs that recognizes that most people travelling for business would prefer to grab a quick, healthy bite and work on their laptop, rather than wait for table service. The hotel room was clean and spacious enough to comfortably share with a colleague. The gym was adequate and all the equipment worked (not always the case in many hotels) My only complaint is having to pay for wireless internet in this day and age.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
state college, pa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

generally not as clean or nice as most Westin hotels. the hotel is part of a larger office building. as some other reviewers have indicated, there were homeless people throughout the lobby. security was limited at best. i would not want my wife or daughter staying there by themselves. although a key was required to operate the elevator, it was >20 meters from the 'hotel lobby' which is poorly defined because it is part of the larger office building.

room was nice and clean as expected. i would stay there again for business given the caveats above.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my first time in Cincinnati for a business trip with several colleagues. The hotel is in need of a renovation and the neighborhood is not great. One thing about the stay was really outstanding, which was Julie at the front desk. She was incredibly helpful, kind, and professional. She went out of her way to help with recommendations for restaurants and any other suggestions I asked for (e.g. best hair salon in Cincinnati for a haircut.) I checked in on Thursday and needed a reservation for 10 colleagues on Saturday evening- somewhere with good food and a good atmosphere that was also reasonably priced. She recommended her favorite restaurant, Jimmy G's, and called the owner immediately to arrange a great table for us. The experience was wonderful- everything Julie promised, and more- great place with great food, good service, and reasonable prices. It was also close to the hotel. This was my first time visiting Cincinnati and my colleagues were really impressed that I found such an excellent place. Julie's colleague, Elly, was also helpful and friendly. Two of the other front desk staff members were not as friendly or helpful, and you could really see the difference. During Julie and Elly's time off from work, several times there was no one at the desk at all. The hotel itself is in need of a renovation- the rooms are tired and it is a shame that you cannot open the windows. They should also have some security in the lobby--many people who were not guests at the hotel were in the lobby soliciting my colleagues for money.

Room Tip: choose a room on a higher floor with a view of fountain square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just wanted to recognize the great work of Julie. As a regular traveler and frequent visitor of the Westin Cincinnati, it's always refreshing to see a friendly face at the counter and to receive exceptional service. She's knows me by name, gives me a warm greeting, and starts confirming my preferences (which she already knows). I especially appreciate how she works through any needs I have on current and future reservations. The answer may not always be the one I want, but I feel she's working on my behalf to come up with a solution.

Just wanted to call our her great work and let you (and her) know what a difference she makes!

Thanks --

Lynn N
Starwood Platinum

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#10 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.