We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
state college, pa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“average hotel, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

generally not as clean or nice as most Westin hotels. the hotel is part of a larger office building. as some other reviewers have indicated, there were homeless people throughout the lobby. security was limited at best. i would not want my wife or daughter staying there by themselves. although a key was required to operate the elevator, it was >20 meters from the 'hotel lobby' which is poorly defined because it is part of the larger office building.

room was nice and clean as expected. i would stay there again for business given the caveats above.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    253
    125
    47
    31
See reviews for
128
201
50
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my first time in Cincinnati for a business trip with several colleagues. The hotel is in need of a renovation and the neighborhood is not great. One thing about the stay was really outstanding, which was Julie at the front desk. She was incredibly helpful, kind, and professional. She went out of her way to help with recommendations for restaurants and any other suggestions I asked for (e.g. best hair salon in Cincinnati for a haircut.) I checked in on Thursday and needed a reservation for 10 colleagues on Saturday evening- somewhere with good food and a good atmosphere that was also reasonably priced. She recommended her favorite restaurant, Jimmy G's, and called the owner immediately to arrange a great table for us. The experience was wonderful- everything Julie promised, and more- great place with great food, good service, and reasonable prices. It was also close to the hotel. This was my first time visiting Cincinnati and my colleagues were really impressed that I found such an excellent place. Julie's colleague, Elly, was also helpful and friendly. Two of the other front desk staff members were not as friendly or helpful, and you could really see the difference. During Julie and Elly's time off from work, several times there was no one at the desk at all. The hotel itself is in need of a renovation- the rooms are tired and it is a shame that you cannot open the windows. They should also have some security in the lobby--many people who were not guests at the hotel were in the lobby soliciting my colleagues for money.

Room Tip: choose a room on a higher floor with a view of fountain square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just wanted to recognize the great work of Julie. As a regular traveler and frequent visitor of the Westin Cincinnati, it's always refreshing to see a friendly face at the counter and to receive exceptional service. She's knows me by name, gives me a warm greeting, and starts confirming my preferences (which she already knows). I especially appreciate how she works through any needs I have on current and future reservations. The answer may not always be the one I want, but I feel she's working on my behalf to come up with a solution.

Just wanted to call our her great work and let you (and her) know what a difference she makes!

Thanks --

Lynn N
Starwood Platinum

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteland, IN
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel room. Comfy bed. Bathroom is small but room is nice size and has a refrigerator and a safe. No restaurant. Parking garage is not great. Staff of the garage not helpful and you must pay in advance via a machine. We did not have ant problems but witnessed many who did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was a quest for an International Conference, I was amazed at the poor level of this Westin. There were homeless begging for money as soon as we got to the door. No one from Westin did anything, they were sleeping in the lobby. The rooms were disgusting, elevators dirty, mold in the bathroom. The staff just didn't seem to care about anything when I complained about the "bums" the front desks comment was " yeah I know we just don't have enough security". Not one member of the conference will ever stay at this WEstin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is fantastic! Great location, friendly attentive staff, beautiful clean rooms. The work out facility is very nice. Julie at the front desk was amazing and really made our stay perfect! We have stayed there twice for leisure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for a week for a series of meetings.

Pros:
- Best bed EVER. So comfortable that getting up in the morning was a challenge for me.
- Good location. An 8-minute walk to our office. Also right across the street from Fountain Square's restos, ice cream shops, the dancing and music...

Cons:
- WiFi wasn't free.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the fountain/square. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#10 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.