We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, comfortable hotel, convenient for business in downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cincinnati to your Saves list
The Westin Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Centrally located, comfortable hotel, convenient for business in downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Very nice, modern hotel, centrally located. Across the street from Fountain Square and adjacent restaurants and clubs. Easy walk to bunch of decent restaurants. Pleasant service and people in the hotel. Would easily stay for business again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    226
    119
    43
    31
See reviews for
113
175
50
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is okay. Do I think it is worth the price? No. Let me start with a list of cons and then my pros. If you think my cons are picky, remember this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, so I do expect at the least cleanliness.
~Cons:
1.*Reception area is located on second floor-just odd layout imho
2.*Elevator troubles-plan on waiting when you use the elevator, not for a few seconds, but 8-10 minutes most times
3.*Elevator Broken-when leaving to take elevator down to parking lot, surprise! Elevator Broken! Have fun hauling your own luggage back through the hotel maze
4.*Stain located on curtains-I'm just not a fan of stains in hotels-if this does not bother you, then winner, winner chicken dinner!
5.*Stain also on lamp shade (see above note)
6.*Stingy with towels-but was able to score more when I heard cleaning crew in hall.
7.*Stingy with bottled water. They want $3/water in room. I do not like being nickel/dimed when I stay somewhere. If I have paid x price, then I want that included.
~Pros:
1.*Fun location-was able to walk to great restaurants nearby, Fountain area across street-if you enjoy music & a pretty view, request fountain side, if you don't, request opposite.
2.*Comfy enough beds-I wasn't blown away by this, then again I have a TempurPedic at home, but it was sufficient.
3.*View from room (facing Fountain area)
4.*Indoor room fridge
To sum up, if I were you and looking for a nice place to stay with above average cleanliness and ambiance, I would keep looking. The Cincinnatian is nice & nearby. If I happened upon this property via value website & got I good deal, I wouldn't look away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Across from the Carew Tower (go to the observation deck for the best city view) and Fountain Square. Easy walk to the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center and the Suspension Bridge.
Starbuck's in the room. Only problem we saw was that there was no waste receptacle near the elevators, so there was trash around on the tables by the elevators (and weren't cleaned up for a couple of days). Purchased the room package which included breakfast (voucher for $25 from hotel restaurant Ingredients), which ended up costing less than separately purchasing. Save a few dollars by self-parking underneath the hotel; plan your outings so that you leave and return once per day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Cincinnati while attending my friend's wedding that weekend. The hotel is located downtown next to some really good restaurants and Macys. The room was clean, and had all the amenities we expected from a Westin including a pool on the top floor.
My only issue with the hotel was the lack of parking. When baseball games are going, all the parking in the downtown area gets full so the only option for those staying at the hotel is to valet it. I really think they should have some self-serve parking for the guests. Not only was it an added expense, our car was across the street and with traffic it took over 10 minutes to get our car.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here with a special rate found online for 2 nights. Extremely comfortable bed. Awesome double headed shower, gorgeous bathroom and spacious room. Extremely clean and modern. Across the street from the main square where there is constant activity. Great location to walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Excellent hotel. I stayed here four nights for business and it was extremely comfortable, as most Westins are. I was on the preferred floor and the room was well appointed and extra large. The bed was the best Westin bed I've been in. The hotel's location is great and having not been to Cincinnati before, I was unexpectedly impressed. The hotel is across the street from Fountain Square which has restaurants surrounding it and there was a band and even dancing each night. It would also be convenient to stay there when attending Reds or Bengals games, maybe a 10 minute walk to both stadiums. I would highly recommend staying here for any reason, business or leisure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have been staying at the hotel every week while traveling on business. If it weren't for the Starwood points, I would probably go elsewhere. There is nothing terribly wrong, but overall, it just isn't as nice as the price would suggest. Rooms facing Fountain Square on lower levels can be loud. Also, I have had to go back to the front desk at the beginning of multiple stays after being assigned a room with a strong cigarette odor (despite the hotel-wide non-smoking policy). The front desk staff isn't rude, but they are also not as eager to help as at some other hotels.

This hotel is fine, but there are better options in terms of value and service nearby (Cincinnatian and Hilton, in my opinion).

Room Tip: Avoid low-floor rooms on the Fountain Square side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 East 5th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#11 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.