We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best zoo I have been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden

Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden
3400 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45220-1399
513-281-4700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 189 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This second oldest zoo in the U.S., considered one of the best in the country, is most renowned for its endangered species and birthing programs, particularly for gorillas and white tigers, and has a wonderful collection of felines and a delightful manatees exhibit.
Greenfield, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best zoo I have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

It was a very hot day when we were there yesterday. Most of the animals were out so it was a good day. We even got to see the new 18-day old baby Gorilla, Mona. We will definitely be back.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    324
    76
    24
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I wish it wasn't so hilly, but otherwise one of the best as far as zoos go. Take the train, pack a meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Even though it was a hot day, we had a fantastic time at the zoo. Surprisingly a lot of animals were out despite the almost 100 degree heat yesterday. All in all a good day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Sunday after 2pm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great family afternoon out after church and lunch . Found parking on the street and the crowds were all moving out and by the time 3:30 came about it was like being on our personal safari! We saved a few more bucks buying the tickets at kroger as well .

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
“Just not a great place to see animals!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The gardens at the zoo are beautiful but this zoo just does not stack up to the San Diego Zoo, Bronx Zoo, or a host of others. While the animals are all in outside natural areas, these areas are very small. There were numerous cases of animals just pacing up and back. In addition, in most cases there are a very small number of each type of animal. Must also mention that in an area of plenty of on-street parking, they charge $9.00 to park in addition to the $22 per person admission ($3.50 for a bottle of water was also a bit extreme).

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.