We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden

Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden
3400 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45220-1399
513-281-4700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 87 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Gardens, Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This second oldest zoo in the U.S., considered one of the best in the country, is most renowned for its endangered species and birthing programs, particularly for gorillas and white tigers, and has a wonderful collection of felines and a delightful manatees exhibit.
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I would suggest going as soon as they open. My husband and I spent 5 hours. We had to race to see everything because they were closing. I would suggest seeing a 4 d show. Very nice lay out plenty of places to get a good look at the animals. They had lots of animals I never herd of. That my local zoo doesn't have. Makes my zoo look bad. Suggest you eat before you go. 2 cheeseburger baskets and to split a souvenir cup was $21.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    260
    66
    22
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Zoo and a Selection of Unique Animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This zoo is easy to walk and offers nice landscaping. They have an interesting selection of animals, some of which we have not seen before, and we've been to a lot of zoos. The staff was very friendly and at several of the exhibits handlers were available to answer your questions. The food was actually pretty decent and reasonably priced as far as zoo food goes. There is plenty of parking, but it costs $8 - just so you know. Plan on spending most of the day if you are into animals and want to see it all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain,GA, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Zoo volunteers make the visit outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Not only is the zoo itself outstanding but the volunteers and staff are very eager to answer questions

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a great zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I took my girls here for a change from the columbus zoo. Had a great time not too crowded and you pretty much get a close up view of every animal. The food is pretty pricey but other then that this is a great zoo

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Vermont
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“an okay way to spend the day in Cincy - surprisingly run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved the giraffes, however, I was surprised to see that this storied zoo was pretty shabby. It wasn't filthy, but the grounds and landscaping were certainly sparse and somewhat littered. I would have expected this place to be pristine, however, it was not. Several of the animal enclosures were shockingly small and really just yucky.

We did have a decent enough time, but I guess I was expecting to be wowed. I wasn't.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.