We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The workers were very rude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden

Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden
3400 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45220-1399
513-281-4700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 71 Activities in Cincinnati
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This second oldest zoo in the U.S., considered one of the best in the country, is most renowned for its endangered species and birthing programs, particularly for gorillas and white tigers, and has a wonderful collection of felines and a delightful manatees exhibit.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The workers were very rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We grew-up and lived in Cincinnati our entire lives and had not been to the zoo in many years. Just the 2 of us went and the presentation of everything was fantastic, as always, but all of the workers and staff there were absolutely rude. Any questions we had throughout the park we were dismissed as quickly as possible and not many smiles. It was very awkward.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    296
    72
    24
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent zoo for a city of this size”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I like the central location - easy to get in and out. The elephant display and the petting zoo was nice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST, Anthony Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“go in summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went in February and it was not too bad but only a few animals were out, but they had some inside that you could see. It is very close to being a good zoo but not yet, even in summer they need a few more things out side. There was construction work going on when we were there so they be adding more. The naked mole rats were awesome, and the gorillas were great, The birds inside were something they fly right up to you if you have a shirt that is the color of a flower or have a bow in your hair. If you have kids go to the birds and mole rats last as they are so fun to watch that it is hard to get the kids and yourself to leave. It is not as big as most zoos but if a good time filler if you don't have much time or are going somewhere else .

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is one of the top zoos I have been to (my list isn't too big). I typically love big cats (e.g. Lions, Tigers) but my favorite exhibit at the Cincinnati Zoo is the insect house. I love the leaf cutter ants. The botanical garden portion of the name is a misnomer - I would not consider their invasive weeds growing in the animals area as a botanical garden. However, the blooms in the spring are amazing!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went with My granddaughter to her first zoo visit and it was well work the money. I think she like the people more than the animals except the Lions

Visited August 2012

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.