We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Art Museum

Cincinnati Art Museum
953 Eden Park Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Mount Adams)
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 143 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most prestigious art museums in the country, with over 100,000 works of art, this grandiose building atop an Eden Park hill, is well-known for its 19th-century European and American paintings, but also contains numerous other works including an outstanding pottery gallery.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

CAM is a real gem! It is the oldest art museum west of the allegany mountains. I started taking my children there on Saturday mornings when they were young; at that time Saturday's were free admission. Now the museum is FREE every day. It does cost $4 to park.
My grandchildren are now enjoying the museum. There are new exhibits all the time and the little people are talking about their next trip back before we even leave. This is a great opportunity for young families to introduce fine art into the lives of their children. My children enjoyed short trips and this offered them the experience of exploring new exhibits with each trip. It is now rewarding to see my grandchildren excited about trips to this great gem in our city.

Visited July 2014
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No better classic art museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

CAM is an older museum with collections from the 1800s, which also now exhibits contemporary work through their visiting exhibits.
A delightful lunch room looks on to a garden. Special events for all ages are frequent. Not too big to exhaust one, but big enough for a wide variety of subjects, periods, and genres of work.

Visited June 2014
Thank Peru-love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a very nice experience. The museum itself, the architecture and the grounds are beautiful. And free. There is a parking fee, but you can part outside of the gate for free and walk 150 yards. the museum has a very diverse collection and something to suit every taste. They also have some kid friendly activities as part of some exhibits, where you are encourage to touch things and discover them for yourself. The grounds are beautiful and located in proximity to some nice trails and restaurants. We will be back to explore some more.

Visited July 2014
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
318 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Free! Okay, you pay for parking...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a great museum-world class actually. The art is second to none and displayed in a most appropriate and delightful setting. Each room is a pleasant surprise and the flow of the art just works. You pay for parking, $5 I think, and admission is free to the museum. If you spend around $10 in the gift shop, parking is free. For a hit summer day, the visit to this museum was, well....refreshing! Go and enjoy!

Thank Mark107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Art Museum is free access and should be visited at least once..... Free wifi also, (haha). The staff was very friendly. The displays were amazing. Would definitely go again because there's always something new to learn about.

Visited June 2014
Thank bluebirdinmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cincinnati Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing