We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Wonder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Art Museum

Cincinnati Art Museum
953 Eden Park Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Mount Adams)
513-639-2995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 192 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most prestigious art museums in the country, with over 100,000 works of art, this grandiose building atop an Eden Park hill, is well-known for its 19th-century European and American paintings, but also contains numerous other works including an outstanding pottery gallery.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Art Wonder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I wasn't expecting to find much at the Cincinnati Art Museum. After all, it's not located in Paris, London, New York or any of the most well known art havens on the planet. But this museum is surprisingly good ... and just may be the best FREE art museum in the world. (I'll readily admit that it far outdoes the St. Louis Art Museum that I grew up with).

It has a quite varied collection with uniquely displayed highlights immediately past the main lobby. The museum does a really fine job educating visitors about the rich art history and heritage of local Cincinnati artists and art supporters.

The location is in beautiful Eden park, which is within walking distance of downtown Cincinnati... very much worth visiting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    107
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Potthast "Eternal Summer" Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I very much enjoyed many of the exhibits, especially the featured "Eternal Summer" exhibit of Potthast works. I learned a lot about the artist. The room with his beach paintings was set up like a beach boardwalk with mannequins with period bathing suits. Entering the museum now, the first hallway is now set up to feature key "icons" from the collections in the museum. I really liked how each work was displayed within a curtain, highlighted with perfectly placed lighting and a lighted sign that provided the information about the artist and the work.
We also ate in the Cafe. The food was delicious, the waiters were attentive. The hostess may have too much to do; it took her a long time to get people seated. Though there were lots of open tables, we waited for the hostess and watched others entering, waiting for the hostess to come to the welcome stand. The menu had good choices, familiar items and some creative items.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Cincinnati attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been to many major art museums around the world, and the Cincinnati Art Museum stands up to the rest for its fine collection. It has a significant impressionist collection, and outstanding Rookwood pottery and local Cincinnati artists' collections. The special exhibits are usually noteworthy. The cafe is good food for a reasonable price. And there is no admission charge to get into the museum. Seriously, how can you beat this?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Ohio
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Fun for the art fun experience and cheap admission the staff was very nollagable about all the paintings and its in a good clean location which I also like I would come back yes I would come again

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Edward Potthast: Cincinnati Native Artitst WOWs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

As is the nature of a smaller city, Cincinnati occasionally extolls the virtues of its successful sons and daughters a little louder than might seem proper. However, this exhibit does an excellent job of introducing and educating about a great talent who deserves to be better known and better appreciated on a very large stage.

The scope of the exhibit is life spanning. The materials covered include oils, watercolors, etchings, even sketchbooks. The well written descriptions of works and gallery areas make the selection approachable and endearing. The main gallery which contains beach paintings is cleverly evocative of a boardwalk and is accompanied by several period bathing costumes to put the paintings into perspective.

This exhibit can easily fill a trip to the museum . . . and it should.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cincinnati Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.