We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An art gem of Cincinnati” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Art Museum

Cincinnati Art Museum
953 Eden Park Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Mount Adams)
513-639-2995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 141 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most prestigious art museums in the country, with over 100,000 works of art, this grandiose building atop an Eden Park hill, is well-known for its 19th-century European and American paintings, but also contains numerous other works including an outstanding pottery gallery.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An art gem of Cincinnati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent a delightful Saturday touring the museum! It is quite large - so you must wear "walking shoes" and allow plenty of time to see everything. We have been to lots of museum in various cities and this one was well worth a short 5 mile trip from downtown Cincinnati.

We did have trouble finding the museum as signage is somewhat poor. We got lost in Eden park "somewhere" and finally asked a policeman for help.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbgKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibitions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm not usually one for modern art, but this museum is interesting. It has plenty of modern art for the "enthusiast", and also some interactive aspects that keep those of us who aren't as appreciative of modern art interested. I recommend it for the modern art neophyte, or advanced alike. It was an enjoyable visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrNo8909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome ART”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

What a great museum! It's free, and the exhibits are both breathtaking and historical. My wife and I went one afternoon after being disappointed at the Contemporary Art Center. We were in Amsterdam last year at the Van Gogh Museum and, while that was cool, we got closer to a Van Gogh at CAM than i have ever been! it was as if you could reach out and touch it! So cool. Other art on display was equally impressive. I especially liked a painting from a local Cincy artist called Night Skyline (or something like that)

Awesome ART!

Enjoy life people!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jish2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Meh - but free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Could be better. Free, which is always a plus. Right next to Krohn conservatory, which is really nice, and it is in a really lovely area of town. They had a 6,000 years of history exhibit that was laid out kind of randomly. Some nice pieces.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I should go ther more often.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It is such a wonderful place, The docents are very helpful. Took classes on field trips there for years and they always thought it was the best trip. So much too see and the special exhibits are very interesting. Loved the Wedding Dresses a few years back.

Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing