We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting exhibitions!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Art Museum

Cincinnati Art Museum
953 Eden Park Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Mount Adams)
513-639-2995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 87 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Art Museums, Ballets
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the most prestigious art museums in the country, with over 100,000 works of art, this grandiose building atop an Eden Park hill, is well-known for its 19th-century European and American paintings, but also contains numerous other works including an outstanding pottery gallery.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibitions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm not usually one for modern art, but this museum is interesting. It has plenty of modern art for the "enthusiast", and also some interactive aspects that keep those of us who aren't as appreciative of modern art interested. I recommend it for the modern art neophyte, or advanced alike. It was an enjoyable visit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    90
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome ART”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

What a great museum! It's free, and the exhibits are both breathtaking and historical. My wife and I went one afternoon after being disappointed at the Contemporary Art Center. We were in Amsterdam last year at the Van Gogh Museum and, while that was cool, we got closer to a Van Gogh at CAM than i have ever been! it was as if you could reach out and touch it! So cool. Other art on display was equally impressive. I especially liked a painting from a local Cincy artist called Night Skyline (or something like that)

Awesome ART!

Enjoy life people!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Meh - but free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Could be better. Free, which is always a plus. Right next to Krohn conservatory, which is really nice, and it is in a really lovely area of town. They had a 6,000 years of history exhibit that was laid out kind of randomly. Some nice pieces.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I should go ther more often.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It is such a wonderful place, The docents are very helpful. Took classes on field trips there for years and they always thought it was the best trip. So much too see and the special exhibits are very interesting. Loved the Wedding Dresses a few years back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reviewing this location does not require verbosity.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's an art museum. It has art from various time periods you can view.

It's in quite the nice building, interesting to look at.

It's situated inside of Eden Park, which is a beautiful park.

THE MUSEUM IS FREE.

Need I say more? Seriously, FREE. What reason do I have to give a free attraction with pieces of history inside anything less than 5 stars?

NONE GOOD SIR!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cincinnati Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.