We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-Class Art Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Art Museum

Cincinnati Art Museum
953 Eden Park Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Mount Adams)
513-639-2995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 88 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Art Museums, Ballets
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the most prestigious art museums in the country, with over 100,000 works of art, this grandiose building atop an Eden Park hill, is well-known for its 19th-century European and American paintings, but also contains numerous other works including an outstanding pottery gallery.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“First-Class Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Beautiful old building, solid collection of all styles and periods of art. Coffee shop, gift shop, free admission ($4 for parking). Very impressed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    94
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

After having also been to the Taft and Contemporary I think this is by far the best. However I was not as impressed as I was with the Baltimore Museum of Art. The Cincinnati Art Museum is quite large and has a pretty broad selection. It had a lot of 3D art including vases. I was there when they were exhibiting Herb Ritts and Toulouse-Lautrec. There was a modest selection of Lautrec. I’m not sure why glamour shots of models are appropriate for an art museum. I think this is definitely worthwhile but it is not at top tier of the nation’s arts museums. It’s a very nice building and the area around it is beautiful for a walk. I can certainly recommend it as very nice way to spend several hours. Good parking.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful collections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The art museum has such a variety of collections of different forms of art. There are temporary exhibits as well. I also enjoy the beautiful building that houses all the fantastic art. Plan enough time so you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“not kid friendly :( even to well behaved kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not very kid friendly, even to well behaved kids. Many mom's have complained, even for field trips that the staff is not friendly, and have acted irritated with kids and families. Good idea for adults though. Beautiful building.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I loved the variety of exhibits they have. It's pretty big as well, I only got through about 2/3rds of the first floor in like an hour and a half. The parking is $4, but he admission is free. I will definitely be going back the next time I'm in Cincinnati!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cincinnati Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.