We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful collections” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Art Museum

Cincinnati Art Museum
953 Eden Park Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Mount Adams)
513-639-2995
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 80 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Art Museums, Ballets
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the most prestigious art museums in the country, with over 100,000 works of art, this grandiose building atop an Eden Park hill, is well-known for its 19th-century European and American paintings, but also contains numerous other works including an outstanding pottery gallery.
Loveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful collections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The art museum has such a variety of collections of different forms of art. There are temporary exhibits as well. I also enjoy the beautiful building that houses all the fantastic art. Plan enough time so you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    77
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“not kid friendly :( even to well behaved kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not very kid friendly, even to well behaved kids. Many mom's have complained, even for field trips that the staff is not friendly, and have acted irritated with kids and families. Good idea for adults though. Beautiful building.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I loved the variety of exhibits they have. It's pretty big as well, I only got through about 2/3rds of the first floor in like an hour and a half. The parking is $4, but he admission is free. I will definitely be going back the next time I'm in Cincinnati!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, KY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting art”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I've been here quite a few times and always enjoy the specfic exhibit I'm headed to see, but I do wish there were a few more changes to the standing exhibits. I know this is an issue for lots of art museums, because they all have specific pieces they own, but it makes it less interesting to go back again and again. It is a great place for lunch! And, it's nice that the visit is free!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“free admission and diversified collections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It has a wide variety of arts of different forms from different countries and time periods, inside a beautiful setting. It is free but not open every day (you can check the WEB site for opening hours). If you do not want to pay for parking, you can park nearby outside in the park (5 minute walk). It is a good hop in and out between other attractions. Part of building was under re-construction. There were not a lot of people.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Cincinnati Art Museum to your Saves list