We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent The Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal

Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal
1301 Western Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45203-1103
+1 513-287-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Children's Museums, History Museums, Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Cultural
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a four-in-one educational experience, you can't beat this complex of three museums and OMNIMAX Theater housed in a beautifully restored Art Deco train station. Cincinnati Museum Center houses the Cincinnati History Museum, the Museum of Natural History & Science, the Duke Energy Children's Museum, the Robert D. Lindner Family OMNIMAX Theatre, the Cincinnati History Library and Archives and special exhibition space.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Richmond, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spent The Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I went with a school group, the facility was clean, plenty of restrooms and the food was actually good. Parking lot is nearby and charged a fee, a shuttle is provided. My favorite part was the section about the history of the Cincinnati area and how it changed, the volunteer I talked to in that area was a retired school teacher and he was very interesting to talk to. The mini city was being cleaned and I am glad I don't have that job! There is an exhibit about Diana which I did not go into since she sparked no interest and I did not want to pay the additional cost. My 4th grader was happy with the trip and it was educational for her as well. They do have a gift shop and ice cream parlor (good stuff) to round out the trip. I sat there and was thinking about the millions of travelers that passed through there in the day and what they would think about the present day. See the Imax, visit the attractions and enjoy an ice cream, Don't rush your visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello Jeff! We are so glad your school group chose Cincinnati Museum Center to visit! We are delighted to hear how much you and your daughter enjoyed the museum, and we hope you'll come back again to visit us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    211
    48
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

There are three permanent museums but I like the Cincinnati History one the best. There is always a big special exhibit to see and often have two or three smaller ones too. You can see an Omnimax film, check out the amazing mosaics, or go up to the control tower if you're into trains. The building itself is amazing and I never leave without getting ice cream. Definitely a must see of Cinci.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for your visit and enthusiasm about Cincinnati Museum Center! We love hearing how much our visitors enjoy their experience here, and we hope you'll be back to visit us again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Recently had the opportunity to see the Diana exhibit at this museum center. It was wonderful and I highly recommend if you haven't seen it (it leaves soon...don't wait). Loved the art deco building! Awesome architecture.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for visiting Cincinnati Museum Center and posting a review! So glad to hear you enjoyed the Diana, A Celebration exhibit we currently have on display. We appreciate your kind comments about Cincinnati Museum Center, and we hope you are back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recommended Mostly for Youngsters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My 16 year old grand-daughter and I went to this attraction in July. Saw the Diana exhibit - it was awesome, saw her wedding dress and lots of other dresses and suits that she wore, However this exhibit is done by the end of July. Saw a film in the omi theatre and that is always awesome. We had a choice of the Natural History Museum or the Children's Museum and chose the history one. She was a bit bored as it seemed this museum is geared to younger people. I would recommend this museum for those in grade school. Better to take the older kids to an art museum.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Ruth! Thank you for you positive comments about Cincinnati Museum Center! We are so glad to hear you and your granddaughter enjoyed your visit here, and we hope you'll be back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a great museum. we took the Diana tour and loved it, lots of beautiful photos of her, several of her dresses and special room for her wedding and funeral. Some family history of the Spencer's as well as Spencer jewels, videos, and things of her childhood and growing up. Such a lovely women. Great exhibit. We also did the children's museum, it is a little small but my 9 year old enjoyed the woods, a well as the play area construction equipment. We went to the natural history museum and enjoyed that as well. The cave was a little long but the Ice Age was very neat. They have a scavenger hunt kids can do(at the trading post) and finish and get to pick a rook out, he enjoyed that.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello Debra! Thank you for your visit to Cincinnati Museum Center and for posting a review! We appreciate your kind comments about our museum, and we hope you will be back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.