We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal

Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal
1301 Western Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45203-1103
+1 513-287-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 62 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Children's Museums, History Museums, Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Cultural
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a four-in-one educational experience, you can't beat this complex of three museums and OMNIMAX Theater housed in a beautifully restored Art Deco train station. Cincinnati Museum Center houses the Cincinnati History Museum, the Museum of Natural History & Science, the Duke Energy Children's Museum, the Robert D. Lindner Family OMNIMAX Theatre, the Cincinnati History Library and Archives and special exhibition space.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Recently had the opportunity to see the Diana exhibit at this museum center. It was wonderful and I highly recommend if you haven't seen it (it leaves soon...don't wait). Loved the art deco building! Awesome architecture.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for visiting Cincinnati Museum Center and posting a review! So glad to hear you enjoyed the Diana, A Celebration exhibit we currently have on display. We appreciate your kind comments about Cincinnati Museum Center, and we hope you are back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    202
    47
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recommended Mostly for Youngsters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My 16 year old grand-daughter and I went to this attraction in July. Saw the Diana exhibit - it was awesome, saw her wedding dress and lots of other dresses and suits that she wore, However this exhibit is done by the end of July. Saw a film in the omi theatre and that is always awesome. We had a choice of the Natural History Museum or the Children's Museum and chose the history one. She was a bit bored as it seemed this museum is geared to younger people. I would recommend this museum for those in grade school. Better to take the older kids to an art museum.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Ruth! Thank you for you positive comments about Cincinnati Museum Center! We are so glad to hear you and your granddaughter enjoyed your visit here, and we hope you'll be back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a great museum. we took the Diana tour and loved it, lots of beautiful photos of her, several of her dresses and special room for her wedding and funeral. Some family history of the Spencer's as well as Spencer jewels, videos, and things of her childhood and growing up. Such a lovely women. Great exhibit. We also did the children's museum, it is a little small but my 9 year old enjoyed the woods, a well as the play area construction equipment. We went to the natural history museum and enjoyed that as well. The cave was a little long but the Ice Age was very neat. They have a scavenger hunt kids can do(at the trading post) and finish and get to pick a rook out, he enjoyed that.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello Debra! Thank you for your visit to Cincinnati Museum Center and for posting a review! We appreciate your kind comments about our museum, and we hope you will be back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The art deco train terminal has been transformed into a museum center. It's a beautiful building with an interesting layout.There are many levels as you would expect from an old train terminal where thousands of people descended walkways to reach the trains at lower levels. I liked the fountains out front where the kids in the summer splash around a bit. The three museums and omnimax are quite respectable. The children's museum ( though dated...could use a renovation) is loved by kids from ages 1 - 8. Water area, climbing area,building area, bazillion ball area, and more. For older children the natural history museum is more engaging. And there is the Cave at the lowest level. The history museum does a good job on Cincinnati history. They try to appeal to the youngsters with staff demonstrations and workshops. The Omnimax is an Omnimax. Which means it all depends on what is showing. When a new film is released it is shown at most showings ( every hour on the hour). If repeat films, they alternate films on the hour. They also have touring exhibitions. It might be "Clifford the big red dog" or Princess Diana or "The Bodies". They have upgraded the food court but I wouldn't recommend. Bring your own or limit your stay to 3 - 4 hours.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about Cincinnati Museum Center! We love hearing how much our visitors enjoy their time here, and we are just as glad you had a pleasant experience as well. Thanks again, and we hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a good day here. It is hard to entertain a 14 yo and 7 yo, but this was a good choice. However, we were ready to go after 2.5 hours (that included a very boring omnimax movie) so....it was an okay spot for part of a day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.