We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal

Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal
1301 Western Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45203-1103
+1 513-287-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 87 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: History Museums, Natural History Museums, Children's Museums, Science Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For a four-in-one educational experience, you can't beat this complex of three museums and OMNIMAX Theater housed in a beautifully restored Art Deco train station. Cincinnati Museum Center houses the Cincinnati History Museum, the Museum of Natural History & Science, the Duke Energy Children's Museum, the Robert D. Lindner Family OMNIMAX Theatre, the Cincinnati History Library and Archives and special exhibition space.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Peebles, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Took my five year old grandson there last. There is a place for all ages. He enjoyed the kids touchy feely section and the cave. We both went to the I Max theater. Another grandson thought the train set up of Cincinnati was astounding. Absolutely recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    188
    45
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent museum and lovely Art Deco building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Found out about this in a UK paper detailing old stations in USA worth a visit and as I love Art Deco I dragged my husband to cincinatti (road trip Philly to Chicago)
Definitely worth visit, we did the History museum only as had no children with us and found it v interesting. Especially loved the models of Cincinatti in 1st area. Docents were very helpful and knowledgable.
My only criticisms: would be nice if museum had come more up to present day and if you could have had some sort of handout describing the entrance hall etc. However, there are tours at weekends, we were there Monday!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun Family Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The kids had a good time and enjoyed the Imax shows. We got started a bit later in the day so really wished the museum hours were open a bit later into the evening. Overall, a good place to take your children.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went here to get out of the cold winter air and was happy with the experience. Had a couple of rooms to explore and options for film. Cafeteria area too. I noticed some people with packed lunches inside, so that's a tip to save money. No entrance fees, however fees to enter certain exhibits.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you like art deco....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A friend and I went to see the exhibit of The Dead Sea Scrolls last spring. The exhibit was good. The facility was outstanding, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We weren't able to see any of the other parts of the museum, but I plan to go back and see the rest.
My only complaint is that it is not easily located with the entrance on the second floor via a parking lot at the upper level. More detailed signs would have helped.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.