We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even if you don't like the art, the building is beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal

Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal
1301 Western Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45203-1103
+1 513-287-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 85 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: History Museums, Natural History Museums, Children's Museums, Science Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For a four-in-one educational experience, you can't beat this complex of three museums and Oan MNIMAX Theater housed in a beautifully restored Art Deco train station. Cincinnati Museum Center houses the Cincinnati History Museum, the Museum of Natural History & Science, the Duke Energy Children's Museum, the Robert D. Lindner Family OMNIMAX Theatre, the Cincinnati History Library and Archives and special exhibition space. Don't miss the final stop of the award-winning exhibition "Diana, A Celebration" at Cincinnati Museum Center from Feb. 14-Aug. 17, 2014!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Even if you don't like the art, the building is beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The museum is fantastic, with interesting exhibits and friendly staff it is worth the visit. The building it is housed in is the old train station and is elegant in and of itself. It is a quick cab ride away from the downtown area, and is well worth the fare. A beautiful museum!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    169
    42
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cleopatra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful architecture, fun shops, and a great exhibit. I just wish you didn't have to pay for parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I already covered this in my review of the Cincinnati Museum Center as a whole, but the Children's Museum is definitely a winner. It is very big and there are tons of things to do. The kids stay busy here for an entire day, easy. It is a superior children's museum, second only to the Indianapolis one, as far as ones I have visited.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 amazing museums in one historical gem of a building!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The CMC is such a fantastic place and we are so lucky to have it here in Cincinnati. The building itself is a sight to see. All 3 museums are huge and you could spend days there. The Children's museum is excellent compared to other children's museums I've been to (aside from the one in Indianapolis of course). The omnimax is cool, and now I hear you can access the tower for free where you can look down on the trains coming through and learn more about the history of Union Terminal. This is a great place to go year round, for any age. My only complaint about this place is how far you have to walk from the parking lot, and if the weather is rainy, or cold, or hot, or basically anything but perfect, you want to lay down and die before you actually reach the front door. But it's worth it ;)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“More than we expected~a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

As newcomers to the Northen Kentucky region, we have been doing our best to visit area attractions in order to best know where we might take house guests from out of town. Waiting for a rainy day, we finally got our chance to see the Cincinnati Museum Center. This museum was such an unexpected surprise. Having grown children, we spent most of our time in the Cincinnati side, saving the Natural History/Children's Museum for last. This museum was so well put together, so interesting, offered a large variety of exhibits specific to the history of Cincinnati, and had many many volunteers proudly and happily assisting with questions and exhibit explanations. We LOVED it. This is a fascinating use of a 1930's art deco stucture and train station. The museum ramps were actually once the roads the taxis and cars used to get in and out of the old station. Towards the end of the Cincinnati side of the museum is a replica of an old steamboat docked in the Ohio River abutting an old time Cincinnati street front~complete with shopkeepers and a live street musician. We would without a doubt return with any of our friends visiting us here in Newport, Kentucky. The children's Museum looked great, but we pretty much just walked through. There was a bat cave and an old ice cave that undoubtedly would have been wonderful for the imagination of small children. As retired school teachers, we could only guess that it must be a popluar place for school trips. There was also an IMAX theater. The price is reasonable, there is also a food court, and the entrance is so pretty. Don't miss this :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal to your Saves list