We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Well laid out and amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal

Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal
1301 Western Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45203-1103
+1 513-287-7000
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #9 of 80 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: History Museums, Natural History Museums, Children's Museums, Science Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For a four-in-one educational experience, you can't beat this complex of three museums and Oan MNIMAX Theater housed in a beautifully restored Art Deco train station. Cincinnati Museum Center houses the Cincinnati History Museum, the Museum of Natural History & Science, the Duke Energy Children's Museum, the Robert D. Lindner Family OMNIMAX Theatre, the Cincinnati History Library and Archives and special exhibition space. Don't miss the final stop of the award-winning exhibition "Diana, A Celebration" at Cincinnati Museum Center from Feb. 14-Aug. 17, 2014!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Well laid out and amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Cincinnati's best kept secret. We almost didn't go because I couldn't find much about this but decided to give it a try. This is in the basement of the city museum at the old train station. It's dim but amazing and much bigger than you think! The museum has it all plus a ton of room to play! Best for ages 1-10 and we were impressed with the space for toddlers and babies! There is a nursing room for moms, clean bathrooms and a place to eat upstairs. The water room was a hit! There is also a huge treehouse and educational sections to learn about children from different cultures. We could have stayed all day!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    154
    40
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well organized and centralized museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My daughter's family took me there for the first time years ago. In that I enjoy railroading, it was very enjoyable. I've been back two or three times and find it to be one of the most fascinating museums in the Midwest.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a little side trip for us , we spent the day here , and had a good time .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

the architecture alone is worth a visit . the museums here are wonderful , and the Omnimax theater is great . the staff was great too !!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable time for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Our family has always had a great time at the museum center, and we've always found plenty to do at any of the three museums, as well as the Omnimax theatre. We usually run out of energy and/or time before we're done with the exhibits. A great family experience overall.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Many ghosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It's hard to imagine the main concourse filled with bustling train passengers, but that was once the scene. I guess a busy airport today would be the closest experience. A single ticket gets you into multiple museums but I only visited the history section. Great overview of both Cincinnati and Ohio history. Incredible model of the city in the 40's. Not as much emphasis on the train operation/history as I might have expected. You can ge right to the door on city bus 1. Well worth the cost.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.