We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead Sea Scrolls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal

Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal
1301 Western Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45203-1103
+1 513-287-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 85 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: History Museums, Natural History Museums, Children's Museums, Science Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For a four-in-one educational experience, you can't beat this complex of three museums and Oan MNIMAX Theater housed in a beautifully restored Art Deco train station. Cincinnati Museum Center houses the Cincinnati History Museum, the Museum of Natural History & Science, the Duke Energy Children's Museum, the Robert D. Lindner Family OMNIMAX Theatre, the Cincinnati History Library and Archives and special exhibition space. Don't miss the final stop of the award-winning exhibition "Diana, A Celebration" at Cincinnati Museum Center from Feb. 14-Aug. 17, 2014!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dead Sea Scrolls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

PRICE: We paid $52 for 2 tickets to see the Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit.

LENGTH: We stayed for 2 1/2 hours.

ENVIRONMENT: The Cincy Museum is beautiful! A large foyer greets you as you walk in, with arching ceilings (somewhat reminiscent of Grand Central Station, NYC).

EXPERIENCE: Our tickets were quickly obtained at Will Call. However, even though we were on time, the exhibit was running behind. We probably didn't enter the main attraction for 20-30 minutes after arrival. This was an indication at the massive traffic flow of people coming to see the Scrolls.

Unfortunately, that was an issue throughout the night. Too many people made it next to impossible to see anything worth seeing. Sure, you could get close the large clay pots, but any of the actual scrolls had such a line that you could wait 30 minutes to see one tiny scroll.

My advice to the museum/exhibitors would be to limit the ticket sales further (they are already restricted and time-slotted). There were far too many people there to experience the scrolls as I had hoped for.

That being said, I can now check this off my life's list.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Social Media Coordniator at Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and have sent it to the head of special exhibits so we can make our current exhibit run more smoothly. We hope you’ll visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    173
    43
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Dead scrolls was sold out by the time we got there at 1030. The butterfly movie was pretty neat although I wouldn't call it must see. Parking for 6$ is a lil steep and be careful there are potholes everywhere. Te museum of history of science was cool. It requires a lot of reading. The 1 pm bat show never took place and they kept telling us it would start any minute. If you don't have kids, they won't let you Ito the childrens museum. We skipped the Cincinnati history museum. Overall, spent about 35$ for 2 people about 4 hours of learning. Not sure that I would go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cincinnati wouldn't be the same without Union Terminal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Walking into Union Terminal you can easily feel the energy of the past. I can't help but imagine the bustling WW2 era crowds--soldiers coming home, soldiers going away, kisses, hugs and tears. That's just when you walk into the rotunda. The museums are superb and the train museum on the upper level is a must! For history lovers, don't miss the Union Terminal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is one of the best Children's museums out there. My kids love it! There is even some things for parents to do as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dead Sea Scrolls - an amazing exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I went cause it was a "gotta see" kind of show. Was completely absorbed for 2.5 hours. Wish it was staying longer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal to your Saves list