We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Day Trip for Ohio and Kentucky Residents!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal

Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal
1301 Western Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45203-1103
+1 513-287-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Children's Museums, History Museums, Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Cultural
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a four-in-one educational experience, you can't beat this complex of three museums and OMNIMAX Theater housed in a beautifully restored Art Deco train station. Cincinnati Museum Center houses the Cincinnati History Museum, the Museum of Natural History & Science, the Duke Energy Children's Museum, the Robert D. Lindner Family OMNIMAX Theatre, the Cincinnati History Library and Archives and special exhibition space.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Day Trip for Ohio and Kentucky Residents!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great exhibits! Always bringing in something new. Omnimax theatre is fun. My favorite thing was the "Cave". It simulated crawling/hiking through a cave. Loved the re-creation of historical Cincinnati with the train sets. Union terminal is an architectural beaut! Great representation of Art Deco. Historical place housing fun and interesting exhibits!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    211
    48
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for small kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Good for smaller kids, maybe 6 and under. My kids had a great time! Can do it all in about 3 hours. Showing it's age though. Some of The Woods is closed off. Some pulley ropes are worn, or not functioning.
For more to do check out the Natural History Museum. Especially the Glacier area and sand box.
For the Adults in your party the Dead Sea scrolls are also a must see!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek OH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unique experience for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This massive complex has once again scored a homerun with their Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit. It was really well worth the visit. We followed that exhibit with a movie in their giant Omni-Max, one of the larger/steeper theatres of its kind in the mid-west.
This art-deco terminal building once housed the central train station, and is roomy enough to offer a variety of museum experiences in addition to special features like this. And the domed entrance elicits that "Wow" from children of all ages. Take time to admire the mosaics on the interior, too.
Plenty of parking, but don't plan on dining here. Buy snacks if you need a carryover until you are ready to leave the museum complex.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good place to learn about Cincinnati and good place for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

we usually visit this place because of my kid for the children museum. We also, visit the historical museum and other exhibitions with the membership. it is really good place to visit as family and have fun, however, the cost for the food is really really really expensive. therefore, I suggest all people to bring their own food for your kids and yourself.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GREAT Place to take the kids and stay all day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great place to go with the kids for a whole day! We got in at a discounted price the handful of times we went. I thought admission was high, but really it is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.