We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal

Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal
1301 Western Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45203-1103
+1 513-287-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Children's Museums, History Museums, Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Cultural
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a four-in-one educational experience, you can't beat this complex of three museums and OMNIMAX Theater housed in a beautifully restored Art Deco train station. Cincinnati Museum Center houses the Cincinnati History Museum, the Museum of Natural History & Science, the Duke Energy Children's Museum, the Robert D. Lindner Family OMNIMAX Theatre, the Cincinnati History Library and Archives and special exhibition space.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
litktybg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great Ominmax movies and the childrens museum is fantastic. My daughter went to the exhibits with my sister and thoroughly enjoyed it. Quite an historical place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    211
    48
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

There's a day's worth of fun at the Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal. Approaching the Terminal seems like a trip back in time. Beautiful architecture, well landscaped, lovely fountains. Affordable for the family, fun for couples. IMAX is great! The museums are fun and informative, there's casual dining, on-site parking, gift shops ... and the art deco restored terminal is beautiful. Don't miss a private chat across the Terminal arch, a fascinating feature of the Terminal's architecture. We try to get to Union Terminal every time we visit Cincinnati, which is at least twice a year.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Three museums plus IMAX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great deal! Three great museums and an imax show for 16 dollars. The kids had a great time and we made the day of it since the weather outside was bad. The cave in the natural history museum is the best!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have 3 girls under 5 and this place is a good regular outing for us. We liked it so much in the winter that we got a membership which includes parking. We basically went in with another family and got a 50% discount.

Anyway, the place has tons of stuff for my clan. Namely the huge sandbox in the natural history wing and the bat cave. My 4 year old loves it. There is also a whole section for children which includes a tree house, aquatic play area, and lots of make believe sections. I highly recommend this museum as a great inside day event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“The building itself is a destination.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

In addition to some fine museums in the complex, the facility itself is amazing. While there is a modest parking fee, the building is free to enter, and there is a 1930s/1940s newsreel theater with films to watch, at no charge. There is also food service and a truly charming ice cream shop. The art deco architecture is truly awe-inspiring. If you liked the city in the movie the Wizard of Oz, this place is for you. Bottom line: I stop by whenever I have some spare time in Cincinnati.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.