We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Art Deco building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal

Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal
1301 Western Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45203-1103
+1 513-287-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 195 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a four-in-one educational experience, you can't beat this complex of three museums and OMNIMAX Theater housed in a beautifully restored Art Deco train station. Cincinnati Museum Center houses the Cincinnati History Museum, the Museum of Natural History & Science, the Duke Energy Children's Museum, the Robert D. Lindner Family OMNIMAX Theatre, the Cincinnati History Library and Archives and special exhibition space.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
By the lake in Indiana
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Awesome Art Deco building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We really enjoyed the transportation part of the museum, and the Imax theatre. Didn't particularly like the Natural History part as it was more geared towards children and we didn't have any. Easy to find and easy parking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    250
    55
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It has a wonderful handson waterplay area. My children loved playing in the "woods" when they were little. There is a fun ball drop area. It is very educational and has lots of handson activities.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I went yesterday. Cincinnati History museum and Museum of Natural history are not as large as some would like, but it's a nice touch. There is also a children's museum and a theater there. And yes, there is also an amtrack station, which is a nice mix of things. Great place. Parking is $6.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
155 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Don't miss the free tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you are there on a weekend be sure to take the free tour offered on the hour starting at noon and ending at 3:00 (starting at 1:00 on Sundays). A volunteer guide takes you on a walkway above the main hall and discusses art, architecture and history of the place. You also get to see the presidents office, boardroom and secretary reception, a stunning example of art deco or moderne style. Since I love design, this was nirvana for me. We bought tickets for the museum thinking the tour was part of that. When we finished the free tour we did not have time for the history museum, so they graciously refunded our money. Would like to go back and at least check that museum out when we return. Might even allow more time and take the free tour again. If you only have 30 minutes at least see the interior of the building (free) and the beautiful fountains out front.
Kids may be bored with the free tour, so suggest not taking young children. But they may enjoy the childrens museum on site.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Endless fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

There are soooo many things for little ones to do you will never get put pf there! If you don't like to play, I suggest taking a friend's kids too, There is so much that my daughter wanted to try it all, and that meant mommy had to try it all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.