We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime Steaks Prime Service Near I-71 and I-275” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eddie Merlot's

Eddie Merlot's
10808 Montgomery Rd., Cincinnati, OH 45242
513-489-1212
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eddie Merlot's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 1,747 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $25 - $150
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Interstate 275
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Prime Steaks Prime Service Near I-71 and I-275”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Prime beef prepared exactly to your specifications is the draw here. Our party started with oysters on the half shell, lobster bisque, caesars with anchovies and a blue cheese wedge. All very very good. We went on to a 12 ounce filet, a chateaubriand for two and sautéed trout. The entrees were perfect and the creamed corn and creamed spinach were excellent. Service is prompt and professional . The coffee and condiments are in a class by their self. This is worth a trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a great Father's Day experience. Love dining here and the staff and managers make us feel. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Not Ruby's but close. . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Any steak place in the country, for me, starts and ends with one of the Jeff Ruby steak houses in Cincinnati (Precinct, Jeff Ruby, Carlo and Johnny). I've had the best from Ruth's Chris, Morton's Del Frisco, boutique steak houses in SF, Chicago and NYC, and the local competitors to Ruby's. But, none can compare to Ruby's. They are a cut above.

Now, Eddie Merlot is very close to my house, has a nice decor, and has impressive service. In Cincinnati, I think it ranks above Morton's, Chris and Tony's, but a slight notch behind Ruby's.

The steaks are very good. The French Onion soup to die for. The salads are solid. The hostesses are clueless - put us at the worst table in the bar even though we are members of their club and we had a reservation. The servers are really good - but not quite Ruby's off the chart service.

All in all, I like the place and go frequently with friends. But, for about the same price - go to Ruby's.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good food! A little pricey but don't mind paying when the food is this good! Not the first time I've eaten here and is always great!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Service is Waaay lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We were out for a nice birthday dinner and considering we were going to drop $150, one rather expects good service and skilled staff. Although the front of the house people and our waiter was great, a lowly untrained busser or assistant can play havoc with your evening. It's unbelievable when a waiters assistant pulls up a tray jack tight against your table and proceeds to scrape table scraps from the adjacent table's diners in one pile and doggy bag items in another.....while we are eating! Staggering indifference by management that they would allow or train the personnel to do this in the dining room! You might expect this at Bob Evans but not in a high-end "image" restaurant. Management stopped by to apologize...but only that he set up to do his bus work too close to our table. This is a gross failure of management when you are asking $65 for a steak (+$3 for bernease sauce) you expect the table scraps to be cleaned up away from other.'s tables!

The Caesar salad was great, the steaks were tasty, the sautéed mushrooms wonderful, the Stags Leap typically over-priced, and the waiter was great.....but management fails the diner by not having any sensitivity to the payer's experience

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie Merlot's also viewed

 

Been to Eddie Merlot's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eddie Merlot's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.